Uploaded Ad

Courtesy: Hunter Martin
Women's Soccer Announces 2014 Schedule
Courtesy: University of Pennsylvania  
Release:  05/16/2014

PHILADELPHIA – The University of Pennsylvania’s head coach for women’s soccer, Darren Ambrose, has announced the program’s 2014 schedule. The Quakers are slated to play 16 matches, eight of them at home.

“We are looking forward to an early slate of pre Ivy Games that will give us the opportunity to figure out our strengths and weaknesses,” said Ambrose, who enters his 15th season at the helm in 2014. “We have a lot of return games from the past year or two with teams we have played, so it will be interesting to see where we are with a largely new group of players. There are a lot of good teams prior to our Ivy League opener with Harvard that will help us get ready for the Ivy schedule.”

Penn opens the season at Mount St. Mary’s on Friday, Sept. 5, then comes home for its next three matches against Old Dominion (Sept. 7), Saint Francis PA (Thursday, Sept. 11), and William & Mary (Sunday, Sept. 14). The Quakers then take to the road again, to face VCU (Friday, Sept. 19) and Delaware (Sept. 21).

Again this season, Penn opens Ivy League play against Harvard. The Crimson, of course, were the only team to beat the Quakers last year, and they went on to win the Ivy title. This annual showdown will be played on Rhodes Field on Saturday, Sept. 27.

Penn is at Cornell (Friday, Oct. 3) before hosting Columbia (Friday, Oct. 10) in Ivy play, sandwiching a non-conference home game with Loyola (Md.) in between on Monday, Oct. 6. The Quakers also host Navy this season, two days after their match with the Lions on Sunday, Oct. 12.

The Quakers hit the road for their next three matches, starting with Ivy League trips to Dartmouth (Saturday, Oct. 18) and Yale (Saturday, Oct. 25) and concluding with a midweek trip to nearby Lehigh (Tuesday, Oct. 28). Penn’s final home game takes place on Saturday, Nov. 1 against Brown, before the Red and Blue conclude their regular season at Princeton on Saturday, Nov. 8.

Penn will be looking to improve on an exceptional 2013 season, when the Quakers finished 12-1-4 overall -- setting a school record for fewest losses -- and took second place in the Ivy League at 5-1-1. Penn returns 15 letterwinners from last year’s team, including six starters and a trio of first-team All-Ivy players in juniors Caroline Dwyer, Erin Mikolai and Kalijah Terilli.



‹ Penn Women's Soccer


advertisement
Geico
The Inquirer
PNC Bank
Milk
Independence Blue Cross
Chili's
Coke Zero
Home Team IBC
Dunkin Donuts
Coke Zero
Bank of America
Geico