Below are brief bios and information on the members of the University of Pennsylvania Lacrosse Hall of Fame. In addition, the University of Pennsylvania Athletic Department established the Penn Athletics Hall of Fame in 1996 to honor the greatest athletes and coaches ever to wear and coach the Red and Blue. After five induction ceremonies, the list of honorees has grown to include 139 people who helped create Penn’s rich athletic history and tradition. Of that group, four come from the men’s lacrosse program -- John Clark, Chris Flynn, Peter Hollis and Mike Page.

Mark Avart
Inducted in 2000. The honorable mention All-America goalkeeper was a North-South Game selection.

James Adams
Coached Penn from 1970-77 and compiled a 49-35 record. He is a member of the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

I.W. Burnham
Burnham (who played under the name Bernheim) was a member of the Penn Lacrosse family for eight decades. It started as a player, where the two-year player regularly helped Penn to wins over national powers like Cornell, Harvard, Princeton and Virginia. He was a frequent and generous contributor to both Penn lacrosse and football.

Dave Buten
A three-time honorable mention All-America goalkeeper (1958-60), he set Penn’s all-time record of 487 saves in just three seasons.

John Clark
Currently a University Trustee and Athletic Advisory Board member, Clark was an All-Ivy and first-team All-America in both 1962 and 1963. He has been a frequent and generous contributor to both Penn lacrosse and football.

John Tompkins Close
Captained the 1922 team and earned second-team All-America status that year. Was a first-team All-America in 1923.

Zach Colburn
Named second-team All-America and first-team All-Ivy in 1984, he was selected to the U.S. National Team as a player on three occasions (1990, 1994 and 1998).

J. Howard Coale  
Third-team All-America goalkeeper in 1967.

Peter Coleman
Third-team All-America as a senior, when he helped lead Penn to its first Ivy title.

Don Delgiorno
Two-time first-team All-America (1977-78) and earned third-team All-America in 1976. He is one of only two Penn players to achieve first-team All-Ivy status three times (1976-1978).

Jim DellaRocca
First-team All-Ivy and third-team All-America in 1984.

Chris Flynn
The two-time first-team All-Ivy pick (1987-88) was a first-team All-America in 1988 and second-team All-America in 1987. Flynn was named both the 1988 National and Ivy League Player of the Year, and he played on the 1994 U.S. National Team.

Barrett Freedlander
Key member of the 1962 team and a long-time supporter of Penn Athletics.

E.D. Gardiner
Ssecond-team All-America in 1924 and third-team All-America in 1925.

Josh Hall
First-team All-America and All-Ivy in 1984.

Ed Hartman
Was named third-team All-America for the 1949 season and honorable mention All-America the two previous seasons.

Peter Hollis
Was named first-team All-America for the 1977 season and honorable mention All-America the previous two years. He also was first-team All-Ivy in 1975 and 1977. Nearly 30 years later, he still holds the record for points in a season (76 in 1977), and with 94 career assists and is second in Penn history in that category. He was a member of the inaugural class of the Penn Athletics Hall of Fame in 1996.

John Kanaras
Backstopped the Red and Blue to two Ivy League titles (1986, 1988) and consecutive NCAA Championship appearances in 1987 and 1988.

Kenneth Kirtz
More than 50 years later, he still holds Penn’s record for assists in a season (46 in 1954) as well as points in a game (13, set in 1955). He was a 1955 honorable mention All-America.

Ed McMahon
Tri-captain of Penn’s 1988 Final Four team, he also helped Penn to its first NCAA Championship win in 1987. As a senior, he was named first-team All-Ivy and third-team All-America.

Miller Moore
Captained the 1928 team and earned third-team All-America honors in 1927.

W. Kelso Morrill
Joins Don Delgiorno as Penn’s only three-time first-team All-Ivy selections. He earned third-team All-America honors as a sophomore in 1985, then honorable mention All-America as a junior and senior.

Alva Nye
A 1935 first-team All-America.

Mike Page
One of Penn’s all-time leading scorers with 80 goals—still the most in a three-year career—he was a member of U.S. National Team in 1978 and 1982. Page was inducted into the inaugural class of the Penn Athletics Hall of Fame in 1996. He was first-team All-Ivy in 1976 and 1977, and first-team All-America in 1977. Prior to that, Page was a third-team All-America selection in both 1975 and 1976.

Leo Paytas
A 1985 first-team All-America and All-Ivy selection.

John Pennypacker
In 1934 he was named second-team All-America.

Paul Riblett
In 1931 he was named second-team All-America.

Tony Seaman
During his seven years as head coach, Seaman led Penn to four Ivy League titles (1983, 1984, 1986, 1988) and six NCAA Championship appearances (1983, 1984, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1989). He is Penn’s all-time wins leader with 74.

John Sheffield
Was a first-team All-Ivy and third-team All-America selection in 1974, and an honorable mention All-America in 1973.

Al Shoemaker
Few have had as deep and personal a commitment to Penn Lacrosse as Al Shoemaker. While he was a member of the crew team as an undergrad at Penn, all three of his sons played lacrosse for the Quakers and his daughter also attended Penn. He has been a longtime benefactor of Penn Lacrosse (as well as many other programs). He and his son, John, represent the first entry of a father and son into the Penn Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

John Shoemaker
Scored a Penn single-season record 44 goals in 1987 and netted 101 for his career.  He was a two-time first-team All-Ivy pick (1986-87) and honorable mention All-America in 1987.

Paul Silverstein
Received the 1971 L.B. Melcher Hustle Award, and was second-team All-Ivy and third-team All-America that same year.

Steve Solow
A two-time first-team All-Ivy (1971-72), he was named second-team All-America for the 1972 season. As a senior in 1973, he was captain of the Quakers and earned second-team All-Ivy.

Robert Stephens
First-team All-America for the 1938 season.

Ferris Thomsen, Jr.
Captained the 1954 team and was an honorable mention All-America selection that same year.

John Utz
First-team All-America for the 1930 season.

Robert Wands
First-team All-America for the 1933 season.