QFS Jerseys 2 257x90
QFS Sweatshirts 1000x60

Courtesy: Hunter Martin
Wrestling Hosts Keystone Classic Sunday
Courtesy: Charles Dorman, associate director of athletic communications  
Release:  11/15/2012

Keystone Classic on Twitter  |  Penn Wrestling on Twitter

Keystone Classic Preview  |  Penn Wresting on Facebook

Live Video

Penn Media Notes

For the 18th time, Penn will host the Keystone Classic on Sunday at The Palestra, joining 14 teams for one of the country's toughest early-season tournaments. The Quakers have won eight Keystone Classic titles over the previous 17 tournaments, most recently claiming top spot in 2010. Last year, Northwestern was dominant to claim the team championship, with 140.0 points to win by 43 team points. The Wildcats will be back to defend their title in 2012, Penn looking to overtake the 'Cats and improve on its sixth-place finish last season.

The Red and Blue will be loaded in their hunt for a ninth championships, fielding a squad of 23 wrestlers on Sunday. While the designated point scorers aren't known heading into the weekend, Penn will have all of its top weapons in the lineup for the first time this season.

Two-time Keystone Classic champion No. 9 Micah Burak looks like the top seed at 197 pounds. The returning NCAA All-American was the title-winner in 2009 and 20101 at the tournament, missing last season's with injury. Also returning to the Keystone mats is No. 13 Mark Rappo at 125 pounds. Rappo has twice placed at the Keystone Classic, earning third in 2010 and sixth in 2008.

Heavyweight Kyle Cowan is expected to make his return to action for the Quakers after missing all of 2011-12 with injury. The 2011 Ivy League Rookie of the Year was dominant in his first Keystone Classic in November of 2010, winning all four of his matches to claim the crown.

Last weekend, Casey Kent made his Penn debut with an impressive run to the finals at the Binghamton Open. Kent went 4-1 in his first collegiate meet, losing a one-point match in the 165-pound championship bout.

This weekend, a Penn debut over a year in the making is slated to take place. Charlie Lynch was a National Prep champion in 2011, capping an undefeated 60-0 season. Ranked No. 10 at 145 pounds and No. 67 overall by InterMat coming out of high school, Lynch missed all of his freshman season with injury and will make his first appearance for the Quakers this weekend at 149 pounds.

Two veterans to keep an eye on after strong starts to 2012-13 are Troy Hernandez and Ian Korb. Both had moments to build on last weekend at Binghamton and could go a long way to adding team points to Penn's score this weekend. Hernandez went 3-2, winning his first two matches by technical fall. Korb was caught in a tough spot a minute into his first match and pinned, but recomposed himself to the tune of six consecutive wins to take third last weekend.

Penn's Probable Lineup for 2012 Keystone Classic

125    #13 Mark Rappo, Sr. (0-0)
133    Geoffrey Bostany, Jr. (2-2)
133    Jeff Canfora, So. (0-0)
133    Eric Friedman, Fr. (1-2)
141    C.J. Cobb, So. (3-2)
141    Eric DeVos, Fr. (1-2)
141    A.J. Murabito, Fr. (2-2)
149    Andrew Lenzi, Jr. (3-2)
149    Charlie Lynch, So. (0-0)
149    Brooks Martino, Fr. (3-2)
149    Jordan Michelson, Jr. (0-0)
157    Ray Bethea, Fr. (1-2)
157    Troy Hernandez, Sr. (3-2)
157    Steve Robertson, So. (0-2)
165    Casey Kent, Fr. (4-1)
165    Brad Wukie, Jr. (0-2)
174    Harrison Cook, Jr. (0-2)
174    Ian Korb, So. (6-1)
184    Canaan Bethea, Jr. (2-2)
184    Mike Steltenkamp, Sr. (0-2)
197    #9 Micah Burak, Sr. (3-1)
285    Kyle Cowan, Jr. (0-0)
285    Anthony DiLonardo, So. (1-2)
285    Steven Graziano, Jr. (3-2)

Tentative Keystone Schedule

9:00 a.m. - Championship First Round
10:00 a.m. - Championship Second Round
12:00 p.m. - Championship Quarterfinals and Consolation First Round
2:00 p.m. Consolation Second Round
3:00 p.m. - Championship Semifinals and Consolation Third Round
4:30 p.m. - Consolation Fourth Round
5:15 p.m. - Consolation Semifinals
6:00 p.m. Championship Finals, Third and Fifth-Place Matches

Keystone Classic Team Champions
1995: Penn
1996: Penn
1997: Penn

1998: Arizona State
1999: Rider
2000: Penn
2001: Iowa State
2002: Penn
2003: Hofstra
2004: Rider
2005: Penn
2006: Columbia
2007: UT-Chattanooga
2008: Penn
2009: Liberty
2010: Penn
2011: Northwestern

‹ Penn Wrestling

Coke Zero
Coke Zero #2
The Inquirer
Bank of America
Enterprise Car Share banner ad
Dunkin Donuts
Independence Blue Cross
Home Team IBC
Academy 146x80
Sherwin Williams
IBEW 146x80
PNC Bank