Begley and Jaaber Earn Big 5 Honors

Philadelphia – Senior Tim Begley and sophomore Ibrahim Jaaber were named second-team All-Big 5 by the Philadelphia Big 5 and the Herb Good Basketball Club on Tuesday. Begley, the 2005 Ivy League Player of the Year, led the Quakers in scoring and was second in the Big 5 in three-pointers made, while Jaaber led the Red and Blue, Ivy League and Big 5 in steals per game.

Begley is a four-time All-Ivy selection and made his third start in the NCAA Tournament last month. Begley became the 32nd player in Penn program history to record 1,000 career points which he accomplished on Feb. 5, and scored 1,165 points before season’s end. In addition to beign named second-team All-Big, Begley is the Harry Merrill Sportsmanship Award recipient.

Begley led the team in scoring (13.9 ppg), assists (138) and three-pointers made (76), and recorded 21 double-figure scoring games for the Red and Blue, including 17 of the last 21 contests. He broke the all-time three-point record at Penn (253), the all-time three-point attempts record (602) and tied the single game assists record (13).

The Freehold, N.J. native was also named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Division I All-District Team earlier this year, an honorable mention All-American by the Associated Press and is a two-time Academic All-Ivy recipient.

Besides his Big 5 accolade, Jaaber was also a second-team All-Ivy recipient. The guard from Elizabeth, N.J., who leads the Quakers and League in steals, averaged 11.3 ppg, 4.6 rpg and 2.9 spg. Jaaber recorded a season and career-high 26 points against Columbia in Penn’s title clinching win on Feb. 26. Jaaber broke the Penn and Ivy League single game (9) and single season (83) steals records this season.

Saint Joseph’s Pat Caroll was named Outstanding Player of the Year and earned first team honors. Joining him on the first team was La Salle’s Steven Smith, Temple’s Mardy Collins, and Villanova’s Allan Ray and Curtis Sumpter. Saint Joseph’s Dwayne Jones, Villanova’s Randy Foye and Mike Nardi were named to the second team, along with Begley and Jaaber.

All Big 5 award recipients will be honored at the 60th Herb Good Basketball Banquet on April 25.

Written by Heather Palmer, associate director of athletic communications