Boaen, Brown Named to Inaugural All-Diamond Five Team

PHILADELPHIA - Penn centerfielder Joey Boaen and right-handed relief pitcher Doug Brown were named to the inaugural All-Philadelphia Diamond Five team, in voting conducted by the city's head coaches.

Boaen, ajunior from Savannah, Ga.,led the Quakers in nearly every offensive category before an injury cut his season short by 11 games. He still managed to rank seventh in the Ivy League and lead his team with a .349 batting average.

Brown, another junior from Philadelphia,was one of the Ivy League's top relievers, ranking among the leaders in wins (5)and saves (4). He led the Quakers with a 3.70 earned-run average.

Villanova senior Jeremy Hunt and junior Kevin Mulvey were named Philadelphia Diamond Five Player and Pitcher of the Year, respectively. Temple freshman Jamie Abercrombie was named the Diamond Five Rookie of the Year and La Salle’s Lee Saverio was named the Coach of the Year. The Explorers, who went 7-2 against city competition and won the Liberty Bell Classic, were named the Diamond Five Team of the Year.


C - Rich Prall,La Salle
1B - Jeremy Hunt,Villanova
2B - John Rickards,La Salle
SS - Ryan Arcadia,Villanova
3B - Dan Brady,Temple
OF - Joey Boaen,Penn
OF - George Hudock,La Salle
OF - Kris Molloy,Villanova
OF - Devon Swope,Temple
DH - Craig Mirsky,Villanova
SP - Arshwin Asjes,Temple
SP - Jason Hessler,Saint Joseph’s
SP- Kevin Mulvey,Villanova
SP - Dan Waters,La Salle
RP - Doug Brown,Penn

Player of the Year: Jeremy Hunt, Villanova
Pitcher of the Year: Kevin Mulvey, Villanova
Rookie of the Year: Jamie Abercrombie, Temple
Coach of the Year: Lee Saverio, La Salle
Team of the Year: La Salle