Bossart Named Johnny Bench Award Semifinalist

PHILADELPHIA – University of Pennsylvania baseball senior catcher Austin Bossart was recently selected as one of 20 semifinalists by The Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission for the 2015 Johnny Bench Award presented by

Bossart also was recently named Co-Ivy League Player of the Year, along with being selected First-team All-Ivy at catcher for the second consecutive season.

This spring, Bossart hit .358 overall and .355 in Ivy League play, while totaling 13 doubles and four home runs on the season. He also drove in 27 runs for Penn, while behind the plate he threw out a total of 17 baserunners on the year.

In his career Bossart hit .302 with 34 doubles, five triples, and 11 home runs while driving in 88 runs. He compiled a .436 slugging percentage and a .368 on base percentage. Defensively he committed just nine errors in over 1,000 chances for a .992 fielding percentage. He threw out 67 of 148 attempted base runners in his four years behind the plate.

Bossart has been named to the Johnny Bench Award Watch list for three consecutive seasons. This is the first time he has been selected as a national semifinalist.

Serving as one of the Quakers’ captains for a second season, Bossart helped lead Penn to a 22-15 overall record, with a 16-4 Ivy League mark. The 16 wins in league play were the most in program history. The Quakers fell to Columbia, 4-2, in a playoff game to determine the Ivy League Gehrig Division title.

Ballots will be sent to the national voting panel at the end of May for a vote to determine the three finalists. The finalists will be announced June 2, 2015. A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and the winner will be announced at the 18th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on June 25, 2015.

The Johnny Bench Award semifinalists are (in alphabetical order):
•Chris Biocic, Alabama State University SO
•Levi Borders, University of South Florida JR
•Austin Bossart, University of Pennsylvania SR
•Andrew Clow, Mount St. Mary's University SR
•Danny De La Calle, Florida State University SR
•Trey Keegan, Bowling Green State University SO
•Kevin Martir, University of Maryland JR
•DarrellMiller Jr, University of California, Los Angeles SO
•Sean Murphy, Wright State University SO
•Chris Okey, Clemson University SO
•Joey Roach, Georgia State University JR
•Daniel Salters, Dallas Baptist University SR
•Kade Scivicque, Louisiana State University SR
•Brian Serven, Arizona State University SO
•Garrett Stubbs, University of Southern California SR
•Erik VanMeetren, University of Nevada - Las Vegas SR
•Taylor Ward, Fresno State University JR
•Travis Watkins, East Carolina University SO
•Matt Whatley, Oral Roberts University FR
•Matt Winn, Virginia Military Institute SR

Johnny Bench Award Semfinalists Release