Cartwright Receives Cy Kaselman Award at Big 5 Banquet

PHILADELPHIA – Miles Cartwright, a junior guard for the University of Pennsylvania men’s basketball team, was presented with the Cy Kaselman Award on Monday night as the best free-throw shooter among the Philadelphia Big 5’s teams (La Salle, Penn, Saint Joseph’s, Temple, Villanova) this season. The presentation was made at the Big 5’s annual dinner, held at The Palestra.

In addition to Cartwright’s honor, the Big 5 honored Temple senior guard Khalif Wyatt with the Palumbo Award as the Big 5’s top scorer. Temple teammate TJ DiLeo earned the Big 5’s Scholar Athlete of the Year Award, while Villanova’s Darrun Hilliard received the George Paull Award as the Most Improved Player.

Wyatt also was recognized as the Big 5 Player of the Year, while La Salle coach Dr. John Giannini was the Coach of the Year and Villanova freshman guard Ryan Arcidiacono was named the Rookie of the Year.

The first-team All-Big 5 time included Wyatt along with Tyreek Duren (La Salle), Ramon Galloway (La Salle), JayVaughn Pinkston (Villanova) and Ronald Roberts (Saint Joseph’s). The second-team All-Big 5 team was comprised by Arcidiacono, Langston Galloway (SJU), Rahlir Hollis-Jefferson (Temple), Carl Jones (SJU) and Mouphtaou Yarou (Villanova).