Colavita, Williams Claim 'Iron Quaker' Titles

Spring Ball Coverage

Penn Football Twitter

PHILADELPHIA - On March 3, the University of Pennsylvania football team held its fifth annual "Iron Quaker" competition. For the first time, the event was held in the brand new state-of-the-art athletic weight room facility inside the George A. Weiss Pavilion. Running back Brandon Colavita earned the distinction as Penn's strongest player, while defensive back Justyn Williams won the pound-for-pound title.

Colavita claimed the top squat and clean lift en route to the overall Iron Quaker title. The Sewell, N.J., native earned the victory with a combined weight of 1,295 in the clean, bench and squat. His team-best squat maxed out at 565 lbs., while he edged out last year's overall winner, defensive lineman Jared Sholly, for the top clean lift at 365 lbs. Sholly and offensive lineman Michael Pinciotti tied for second in the overall with a combined score of 1,265. Williams, weighing in at 182 lbs., lifted a combined 1,090 lbs., between the clean (315), bench (300) and squat (475).

Sophomore Taylor Brown had the team's top bench press as he put up 435 pounds. Joe Silberzweig (400) and Anthony Stroffolino (405) were the other two Quakers to surpass 400 pounds on the bench.

Under the direction of Head Strength and Conditioning Coordinator Jim Steel and assistant coordinator John Keller, the team competes in various lifts-clean, squat and bench press. Awards are given to those who lift the most weight in each category as well as the Iron Quaker award, which is given to the player with the greatest index score - a summation of the player's three lifts multiplied by a constant assigned depending on the player's weight, in order to compensate for size differences.

The "Iron Quaker" was started by the coaching staff in 2007 and is usually the culmination of the off-season conditioning program for the squad.

Penn began their spring season last week, with their first practice held on March 15.

Recent Winners:
2010 - Jared Sholly (overall), Jake Peterson (pound-for-pound)

2009 - Eric Jett (overall), Chris Wynn (pound-for-pound)

2008 - Jake Peterson (overall), Tyson Maugle (pound-for-pound)