Countdown to the EIWA Championships: Three Days

PHILADELPHIAWith the 2009 EIWA Championships now three days away, Penn Athletics is taking the time to recognize Penn’s all-time performance at the conference tournament.

The Quakers have won 61 individual EIWA Championships. Most recently, Rollie Peterkin (125), Cesar Grajales (149) and Lior Zamir (184) won conference crowns in 2008.

As a team, Penn has won four EIWA titles, with the most recent coming in 1999.

Penn has had 291 wrestlers place from first to sixth at the EIWA Championships – the fourth most out of the 27 schools who have been members of the conference throughout the 105-year history of the EIWA.

The Quakers have had five wrestlers honored with the Coaches’ trophy as Most Outstanding Wrestler at the EIWA Championships. Grajales received the award in 2008, going back-to-back with Matt Eveleth who won the award in 2007.

In addition, Penn has had five grapplers win the John Fletcher Trophy as the wrestler who contributed the most team points in his career at the conference tournament. Mat Valenti most recently won the award for Penn in 2007.

For more information on Penn at the EIWA Championships, click here.

Download: Pg 24 and 25 Media Guide.pdf