Cross Country/Track & Field Announce 2013-14 Schedules

PHILADELPHIA – Saturday marked the first practice for the University of Pennsylvania cross country teams, and in just a few weeks the Quakers will officially start the 2013 campaign in Philadelphia. On Tuesday, Director of Cross Country/Track & Field Steve Dolan announced Penn's complete 2013-14 cross country and track & field schedules.

The Quakers start the cross country season with the Big 5 Meet at Belmont Plateau on Sept. 13 and will end the 2013-14 track and field season with a two-week trip to the United Kingdom in June.

Following the season opener, the cross country teams will compete in the Main Line Invitational on Sept. 26. October will bring the Paul Short Invitational (Oct. 5) and the Pre-Nationals (Oct. 19).

November is the month of championships, starting with the Heptagonals at Princeton on Nov. 2. Soon after, the team will travel to Bethlehem, Pa. for the NCAA Regional on Nov. 15, where they will have the possibility to qualify for the IC4A/ECAC Championships in New York City or the NCAA Championships in Terre Haute, Ind.

While cross country is finishing the end of their season, indoor track is just warming up. The Villanova Invitational on Dec. 7 will mark the first of the season but the last for the year of 2013.

After the New Year, Jan. 18 brings the Lehigh Challenge and Jan. 25 is the Haverford College Invitational. The weekends of February are booked solid for the team as they travel to compete in the Columbia Invitational (Feb. 1), Sykes Sabock Cup (Feb. 8), Rider/Lafayette Invitational (Feb. 14), Millrose Games (Feb. 15), and Princeton Invitational (Feb. 22).

These weekend road trips will prepare the team for the Heps Championships hosted by Dartmouth at the beginning of the month in Hanover, N.H. The Quakers will then cap the indoor campaign at the NCAA Championships in Albuquerque, N.M., March 14-15.

A week after the NCAA Championships, Penn will open the outdoor season with the Philadelphia College Classic at historic Franklin Field. The next few meets to follow will be the Raleigh Relays in Raleigh, N.C. March 28-29. After Raleigh, they’ll journey north to Princeton for the Sam Howell Invitational, April 4-5. The team will again travel South, but not as far, to Fairfax, Va., for the George Mason Invitational on April 12, only to take a trip once again back north to Princeton for the Larry Ellis Invitational April 18-19.

However, all roads eventually lead to track and field's most anticipated meet of the year: The Penn Relays.

2014 marks Penn's 120th consecutive year of hosting The Relays. Last year, there were 48,871 in attendance at historic Franklin Field on Saturday for a three-day total of 111,284 - eclipsing 110,000 fans for the sixth consecutive year. It is also the 10th straight year and the 13th time in the last 14 years with more than 100,000 spectators at the world's oldest and largest relay carnival.

The Penn Relays signify the conclusion of the regular season leading to the Heptagonal Championships hosted by Yale (May 10-11) and ECAC/IC4A Championships the following weekend at Princeton (May 16-18).

For those that qualify, the NCAA East Preliminaries are May 29-31 in Jacksonville, Fla., and the NCAA Finals in Eugene, Ore., June 11-14.

At the conclusion of the collegiate season, the Quakers will spend two weeks touring the United Kingdom for the biennial Transatlantic Series. Traditionally, every two years the Cornell and Penn track and field programs take on Oxford and Cambridge with the site alternating between the UK and USA.

Cross Country
Fri, Sep 13 Big 5 Meet at Philadelphia, Pa. (Belmont Plateau) 9:00 a.m.
Thu, Sep 26 Main Line Invitational at Haverford, Pa. 5:00 p.m.
Sat, Oct 05 Paul Short Invitational at Bethlehem, Pa. 9:00 a.m.
Sat, Oct 19 Pre-Nationals/Princeton Invite at Terre Haute, Ind./Princeton, N.J. 9:00 a.m.
Sat, Nov 02 Heptagonal Championships at Princeton, N.J. 9:00 a.m.
Fri, Nov 15 NCAA Regional Championships at Bethlehem, Pa. 9:00 a.m.
Sat, Nov 23 IC4A/ECAC Championships at Van Cortlandt Park (New York, N.Y.) 9:00 a.m.
Sat, Nov 23 NCAA Championships at Terre Haute, Ind. 9:00 a.m.
Indoor Track & Field
Sat, Dec 07 Villanova Invitational at Havertown, Pa. All Day
Sat, Jan 18 Lehigh Challenge at Bethlehem, Pa. All Day
Sat, Jan 25 Haverford College Invitational at Havertown, Pa. All Day
Sat, Feb 01 Columbia Invitational at 168th St. Armory, N.Y. All Day
Sat, Feb 08 Sykes Sabock Cup @ Penn State at State College, Pa. All Day
Fri, Feb 14 Rider/Lafayette Invitational at 168th St. Armory, N.Y. All Day
Sat, Feb 15 Millrose Games at 168th St. Armory, N.Y. All Day
Sat, Feb 22 Princeton Invitational at Princeton, N.J. All Day
Sat, Mar 01 -
Sun, Mar 02
Heptagonal Championships @ Dartmouth at Hanover, N.H. All Day
Fri, Mar 14 -
Sat, Mar 15
NCAA Championships @ New Mexico at Albuquerque, N.M. All Day
Outdoor Track & Field
Sat, Mar 22 Philadelphia College Classic Franklin Field All Day
Fri, Mar 28 -
Sat, Mar 29
Raleigh Relays @ NC State at Raleigh, N.C. All Day
Fri, Apr 04 -
Sat, Apr 05
Sam Howell Invitational at Princeton, N.J. All Day
Sat, Apr 12 George Mason Invitational at Fairfax, Va. TBA
Fri, Apr 18 -
Sat, Apr 19
Larry Ellis Invitational at Princeton, N.J. All Day
Thu, Apr 24 -
Sat, Apr 26
Penn Relays Franklin Field All Day
Sat, May 10 -
Sun, May 11
Heptagonal Championships @ Yale at New Haven, Conn. All Day
Fri, May 16 -
Sun, May 18
ECAC/IC4A Championships at Princeton, N.J. All Day
Thu, May 29 -
Sat, May 31
NCAA East Preliminaries at Jacksonville, Fla. All Day
Wed, Jun 11 -
Sat, Jun 14
NCAA Finals @ Oregon at Eugene, Ore. All Day
Mon, Jun 16 -
Tue, Jul 01
Oxford-Cambridge Transatlantic Series at United Kingdom All Day