Dodge Cup on the Line for Lightweights Saturday

Live Twitter Updates | Schuylkill River Course Map

PHILADELPHIA - Saturday, the University of Pennsylvania men's lightweight rowing team will look to take home the Dodge Cup for the 16th time in its history. The Quakers will host Yale and Columbia on the Schuylkill River for the rights to the cup beginning at 10 a.m.

If you are unable to come out and support the Penn lightweights in person, you can listen to the Penn broadcast at (213) 493-0217 or

The morning starts with the fours at 10 a.m. That will be followed by the third varsity at 10:20 a.m. The Penn freshmen will look to remain unbeaten this year with a 10:40 a.m. start. Then the second varsity will be on the water at 11 a.m. and the Dodge Cup will be at stake at 11:20 a.m.

This is the 54th Dodge Cup between these three schools. Yale has won nine straight and leads with 34 overall wins. Penn is second with 15 victories, while Columbia has won four times. The Quakers last claimed the Dodge Cup in 1992 with a victory on the Schuylkill River.

Last year, No. 2 Yale edged out Columbia for the Dodge Cup. The Bulldogs led wire-to-wire and the Quakers suffered from a slow start that they were unable to recover from. Yale finished in 5:57.3 - two seconds ahead of the host Lions. Penn finished at 6:12.2.

Last Saturday, the Quakers fell in their bid for the Matthews-Leonard Cup, but bounced back to sweep Mercyhurst in an afternoon dual on the Schuylkill River. In Penn's first regatta on its home course this year, the freshmen won both their races. Against Cornell and Harvard, they won by a length in 5:50.6. The freshman boat then won for the second time on Saturday with a time of 6:23.3 in the second varsity race.

A full recap of the Dodge Cup races can be found at following the conclusion of the day's events.

Tentative Race Schedule
10:00am: 4+
10:20am: 3V
10:40am: 1F
11:00am: 2V
11:20pm: 1V

Tentative Boatings
Cox: Amy Beauchamp
Stroke: Parker Lange
7: Jacque David
6: Eric Sezgen
5: Sam Shaw
4: James Shovlin
3: Mark Dignam
2: TJ Smith
Bow: Adam Miller

Second Varsity
Cox: Josh Dembowitz
Stroke: Nico Mihalich
7: Mark Gannon
6: Dan Schwarz
5: Peter Song
4: Alex Cosio
3: Sam Shepherd
2: Ryan Farrel
Bow: Alan Chan

Third Varsity
Cox: Carlo Calcagni
Stroke: Paris Thatos
7: Max McCarthy
6: Evan Redos
5: Sean Travers
4: Alan Delaney
3: Scott Myslinski
2: Issysu Berhanu
Bow: Ray Andruszko

Cox: Alex Weinrich
Stroke: Roman Schuster
7: TJ Garrity
6: Julian Mazaira
5: Jack Bannenberg
4: Brian Kraus
3: Matt Weaver
2: Ben Strollman
Bow: John Earle

Varsity 4
Cox: Franklin Zhu
4: Ben Madara
3: Mike Donahue
2: Julian Moon
Bow: Gin Yu Lee