Dwyer Named to MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

PHILADELPHIA – University of Pennsylvaniajunior defenderCaroline Dwyer was named today as one of35 NCAA Division I women's soccer playersto watchasthe leading playerswho could vie for the 2014 Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) Hermann Trophy.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the most prestigious individual award in NCAA soccer and is presented annually to one male and one female athlete. This year’s winners will be announced Friday, Jan. 9, 2015, at the trophy presentation banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

The 2014 Watch Lists were announced earlier today on the National Soccer Coaches Association of America’s NSCAATV.com during its “2014 NSCAA College Soccer Preview Show,” which also revealed the 2014 NSCAA/Continental Tire Preseason College Rankings for NCAA Division I men’s and women’s teams.

The lists are compiled by the NSCAA Men’s and Women’s NCAA Division I All-America Committees, based on their analysis of returning All-America and All-Region players, as well as any prominent newcomers.

Dwyerisone of just 13non-seniors on the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List, and has also been named a second-team Preseason All-America by TopDrawerSoccer.com. Last year, sheearnedfirst-team All-Ivy and third-team NSCAA All-America honors as a sophomore. Penn went 12-1-4 last season, setting a program record for fewest losses, and allowed just eight goals while shutting out 12 of its 17 opponents. The Red and Blue will open its 2014 season on Friday, Sept. 5 at Mount St. Mary’s.

Near the end of the collegiate regular season, NCAA Division I coaches that are NSCAA members will vote on their top choices and the lists will be narrowed down to the top 15 players. College soccer fans will also have the opportunity to participate in the selection process, by voting for their favorite semifinalist in November at the MAC Hermann Trophy website, managed by LockerDome.

From that pool of 30, six finalists (three men, three women) will be chosen for the award. The winners will be announced in January.

About the Missouri Athletic Club
The Missouri Athletic Club has been presenting college soccer’s player of the year awards since 1986. The MAC was established in 1903 as an athletic, dining and social club. It has a “Platinum Club of America” status, which is awarded to the top private clubs in the country. To learn more about the Missouri Athletic Club, go to mac-stl.org.

About the NSCAA
Founded in 1941 and based in Kansas City, Kan., the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) is a non-profit organization with a mission to educate coaches, encourage excellence and serve the soccer community.

The NSCAA is the world’s largest soccer coaches’ organization with members at every level of the game. The membership is primarily made up of coaches, but also includes administrators, referees and others in the soccer industry. The NSCAA provides its members ways to enhance the game of soccer by providing a national education program, interaction and networking opportunities, and membership benefits.

For more information about the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, visit the NSCAA website at NSCAA.com.

Download: 2014_MAC_Hermann_Watch_List.pdf