Erin Brennan Named Tewaaraton Award Nominee

Full Press Release

PHILADELPHIA - Penn's leading scorer through 12 games in 2011, junior attacker Erin Brennan has caught national attention with her selection as one of 24 nominees for the Tewaaraton Award - college lacrosse's highest honor.

Brennan - the only Ivy League player to be chosen as a nominee - has scored 36 points for the Quakers this season, sitting atop Penn's scoring list in goals (26) and assists (10). Already, the Garden City, N.Y. native sits seventh all-time in scoring by a Penn player with 138 points. Her 85 career goals are 10th all-time by a Quaker and her 53 assists are fifth-most.

She leads the team in multi-point games with 11 and is currently in the midst of a 21-game scoring streak which dates back to April 4, 2010. In total, Brennan has scored at least one point in 47 of 48 games during her two-plus seasons for the Red and Blue.

Brennan will look to become Penn's second-consecutive Tewaaraton Finalist, the first coming in 2010 when Ali DeLuca was chosen as one the five finalists. Of the 24 nominees, nine have already lines up opposite Brennan for teams Penn has played this season. Another three players on the list play for Duke, a team Penn will play on April 29. The 2011 Tewaaraton Award winner will be a first-time finalist as all five finalists from 2010 have graduated.

The Quakers are back home on April 20 against No. 12 Princeton at 7 p.m. on Senior Day with Penn looking to clinch a share of its fifth Ivy title in a row.

About The Tewaaraton Award:
The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 with the inaugural presentation talking place at The University Club of Washington DC in June of 2001. Honoring the Native American heritage, the Tewaaraton Trophy symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American history. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. Today, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award honoring the nation's top male and female collegiate lacrosse player for their extraordinary achievements on the field.

About Greater Washington Sports Alliance:
Established in 2003, The Greater Washington Sports Alliance (GWSA) is a regional non-profit sports commission created to foster economic development and civic pride through the power of sports. The Sports Alliance's mission encompasses the attraction of sporting events to the region, the promotion of the regional professional, collegiate and amateur franchises, the support of youth investment organizations and the branding of Washington, D.C. as a world class sports destination. For more information please visit

Download: 2011 Tewaaraton Nominees Press Release.pdf