Eskenazi, Latycheva Invited to NCAAs

Penn Women’s Tennis on Facebook

NCAA Championship Central | NCAA Championships Schedule | NCAA Women’s Doubles Championship Bracket | ITA Awards

PHILADELPHIA – The University of Pennsylvania women’s tennis team will be sending two of its own to the NCAA Women’s Tennis Doubles Championship this Memorial Day Weekend. Sol Eskenazi and Sonya Latycheva, No. 59 in the most recent ITA National Doubles rankings, will be competing at the NCAAs from May 23-27. The championship is hosted by the University of Illinois in Urbana, Ill. The Penn duo will begin competition on Thursday at 10 a.m. against No. 30 Kanyapat Narattana and Malika Rose of Oklahoma State.

The Red and Blue’s youthful first doubles team earned the invitation when Bianca Sanon and Kanika Vaidya of Columbia pulled out of the competition. Eskenazi and Latycheva then received the Ivy League’s automatic bid to the NCAAs as they were the next-highest nationally ranked Ivy doubles squad.

The pair compiled a 15-2 record at first doubles during the spring, earning unanimous first-team All-Ivy honors together. Eskenazi also earned first-team honors in singles.

Penn is one of 32 teams competing for the championship this weekend, as play will last until Monday. Play will begin with the first round on Thursday at 10 a.m. The second round will begin on Friday, also at 10 a.m. On Saturday at noon, the quarterfinals will take place. Then on Sunday, the semifinals will begin, also at noon. The competition will end on Monday with the finals, which are scheduled to begin at noon as well.

Make sure to check out the Tournament Central page for more information. Live video of the outdoor matches and live stats will be available there as well, along with the event bracket and schedule.

In addition to her NCAA conquests, Eskenazi was also honored by the ITA for her outstanding play throughout the 2012-13 season. After starring for the Quakers at No. 1 singles and doubles, the Northeast region of the ITA named Eskenazi as the Player to Watch. Check out all the award winners HERE.