Field Hockey Announces 2009 Schedule

PHILADELPHIA - The University of Pennsylvania field hockey program has announced its 2009 schedule. The Quakers will play a 17-game slate that features eight home games and two other games within the city borders.

“Our schedule is competitively as strong as in the past,” said Val Cloud, who enters her 15th season as Penn’s head coach. “Vermont and UNH are first-time games for us and should help in preparing for our first Ivy game with Cornell. I look for the team to be successful early in the season and to create a winning attitude. The seniors will provide the leadership and skill for that to happen.”

Penn opens the 2009 campaign Labor Day Weekend with a Friday trip to Monmouth, then the Quakers return home for a Sunday match with VCU. After a midweek contest against city rival Saint Joseph’s -- to be played at Drexel’s Vidas Field -- the Quakers head to Burlington, Vt., for the weekend to face the University of Vermont and the University of New Hampshire.

The Quakers return home the next weekend and open up Ivy League play against Cornell (Friday, Sept. 18 at 5 p.m.). Four nights later, they entertain city rival Villanova at Franklin Field. The first Ivy road game takes place Sept. 26, at Harvard, and then Penn returns home to host Lafayette (Sept. 30) and Ivy foe Dartmouth (Oct. 3).

Penn is on the road for its next two games, heading to North Broad to face Temple and then crossing the city line to make a weekend trip to St. Francis (Pa.). The Quakers then host Drexel in another midweek contest.

The season concludes with four Ivy League games, beginning with a trip to Columbia on Oct. 18. One week later, Yale comes to Franklin Field, and then the next weekend the Quakers are at Brown. The season concludes the Friday night of Penn’s homecoming weekend, Nov. 6, with Princeton at Franklin Field.

Penn went 6-11 overall a year ago, but finished tied for third inthe Ivy League standings with a 4-3 record.

PENN FIELD HOCKEY

2009 Schedule

Friday, Sept. 4 – at Monmouth, 5 p.m.

Sunday, Sept. 6 – VCU, 1 p.m.

Wednesday, Sept. 9 – vs. Saint Joseph’s, 3 p.m. (#)

Saturday, Sept. 12 – at Vermont, 11 a.m.

Sunday, Sept. 13 – vs. New Hampshire, 2:30 p.m. ($)

Friday, Sept. 18 - CORNELL*, 5 p.m.

Wednesday, Sept. 23 – VILLANOVA, 7:15 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 26 – at Harvard*, noon

Wednesday, Sept. 30 – LAFAYETTE, 7:15 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 3 – DARTMOUTH*, noon

Sunday, Oct. 4 – at Temple, 2 p.m.

Sunday, Oct. 11 – at St. Francis (Pa.), noon

Wednesday, Oct. 14 – DREXEL, 7:15 p.m.

Sunday, Oct. 18 – at Columbia*, 1 p.m.

Sunday, Oct. 25 – YALE*, 1 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 31 - at Brown*, noon

Friday, Nov. 6 – PRINCETON*, 7:15 p.m.

*Ivy League game

Home games in ALL CAPS played at Franklin Field

(#) at Drexel’s Vidas Field

($) neutral-site game in Burlington, Vt.