Field Hockey Releases 2016 Schedule

PHILADELPHIA - With the spring semester now over, The University of Pennsylvania field hockey team has released its schedule for the upcoming 2016 season. The Quakers will play a 16-game schedule, hosting nine games, three against Ivy League foes.

Penn will begin its season with three games at home, starting with Lehigh on September 2. Two days later, the Quakers will welcome 2015 NCAA runner-up North Carolina to Ellen Vagelos Field to finish up their first weekend and close out the homestand with LIU Brooklyn on September 9.

Seventh-year Head Coach Colleen Fink announced the schedule saying, "On the heels of a successful 2015 season finishing with an RPI of 21, we decided to steadily amp up the schedule for this year. We are excited to welcome NCAA runner-up UNC to campus opening weekend, and we will also play the NCAA champion (Syracuse) and face three other 2015 NCAA tournament teams in Delaware, Princeton, and Fairfield. While trying to break into the Top 20 is the goal for this program, we also feel it is important to continue to support the growth of the game, and so we are excited to play LIU Brooklyn in its Inaugural year."

The Red and Blue will hit the road for the first time on September 11, when they make their way up City Avenue for their first of three Big Five contests, starting with St. Joseph's.

"For us, playing our neighboring Philadelphia schools will always be a priority" said Fink. "Both our Staff and Team embrace the the Big 5, City 6 atmosphere and the natural competitiveness it brings out in both teams."

After another road trip the next weekend against Fairfield, Penn will begin its Ivy schedule with a trip to Ithaca to take on Cornell on September 24. The following day, the Quakers face arguably their most daunting task of the season as they stay in the Empire State to take on the defending NCAA champion, Syracuse.

They will return home on on September 27 for a mid-week game against 33rd Street rival, Drexel, before back-to-back Ivy games against Harvard and at Dartmouth.

Starting on October 9, Penn will again play back-to-back home games, hosting Temple and Columbia, then head south for a meeting with Delaware.

The final four games of the season are filled with tough games with three against the Ivy League and one against a Big Five opponent. Penn will head to Yale on October 22, then make their way to Villanova on the 25th, before returning home to face Brown.

The final game of the season will be on November 5, when the Quakers make the trip to archrival Princeton.

There is plenty to be optimistic about with the Quakers coming off a 13-3 season that saw them narrowly fall to Princeton in the season's final game for the Ivy League title. Penn returns 14 players and looks poised to make another run against the Ancient Eight.

2016 SCHEDULE

Saturday, August 27 Scrimmage vs. West Chester 4:30 PM
Friday, September 2 vs. Lehigh 3:30 PM
Sunday, September 4 vs. North Carolina 11:30 AM
Friday, September 9 vs. LIU Brooklyn 3:30 PM
Sunday, September 11 @ SJU 12 PM
Friday, September 16 @ Fairfield 4 PM
Saturday, September 24 @ Cornell 12 PM
Sunday, September 25 @ Syracuse 1 PM
Tuesday, September 27 vs. Drexel 4 PM
Sunday, October 2 vs. Harvard 12 PM
Friday, October 7 @ Dartmouth 4 PM
Sunday, October 9 vs. Temple 1 PM
Friday, October 14 vs. Columbia 4 PM
Sunday, October 16 @ Delaware 12 PM
Saturday, October 22 @ Yale 12 PM
Tuesday, October 25 @ Villanova 7 PM
Saturday, October 29 vs. Brown 12 PM
Saturday, November 5 @ Princeton 12 PM