Football Announces Postseason Awards

PHILADELPHIA - Fourteen student-athletes were honored with team postseason awards at the annual Penn Football Banquet, which was held February 8 at the Inn at Penn.

Senior running back Joe Sandberg and sophomore defensive back Chris Wynn were each presented with the George Munger Award as the team’s offensive and defensive MVP's. For Sandberg, it marked the third-straight year he has been honored with the Munger Award; he is the first offensive player to win the Munger Award three times, and just the second overall since it started being given in 1981. The other is Travis Belden, who was a three-time winner on the defensive side from 2000-02. Wynn, meanwhile, is only the second sophomore to earn a Munger Award, joining -- you guessed it -- Belden. (Sandberg was a fifth-year senior this year, so the first year he won the MVP award he was technically a junior)

Alumnus Harrison “Goose” Clement, W’65 was honored with the Penn Football Man of the Year award, given annually to an alumnus who has made outstanding contributions to the program.

Two seniors, fullback Nick Cisler and defensive lineman Tom Stone, were selected by their teammates to receive the Edgar Church Memorial Award, given to the players who contributed the most to the team.

The Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the team’s most outstanding offensive and defensive linemen, was awarded to a pair of first-team All-Ivy players in center Brian Brazinski and defensive lineman Naheem Harris. It marked Harris’ second time being honored with the defensive Bednarik Award; he is the sixth player to be a two-time honoree since the award started being given in 1981, and the first defensive player since Michael Germino won it in 1998 and 1999.

Offensive lineman Chris Kovalcik and linebacker Jay Colabella -- both of whom earned All-Ivy honors this season -- were awarded the Reds Bagnell Award as the team’s most improved players.

Senior wide receiver Braden Lepisto, linebacker Joe Anastasio, and sophomore Tyler Fisher were given the Penn Football Club awards on offense, defense and special teams, respectively. Running back Michael DiMaggio -- a two-time Ivy League Rookie of the Week selection in 2007 -- and sophomore lineback Jake Lewko were selected as the Penn Football Club offensive and defensive rookies of the year.

Senior safety Patrick Kimener, who joined Cisler and Anastasio as captains of this year’s team, was given the George Weiss Award for exemplifying "Pennsylvania kind of football."


Edgar Church Memorial Award
To the players who, by vote of the letterwinners, has contributed the most to the team.
Offense – Nick Cisler
Defense – Tom Stone

Charles Bednarik Award
To the outstanding linemen
Offense – Brian Brazinski
Defense – Naheem Harris

George Munger Award
To the team MVPs
Offense – Joe Sandberg
Defense – Chris Wynn

Reds Bagnell Award
To the most improved players
Offense – Chris Kovalcik
Defense – Jay Colabella

Penn Football Club Awards
Offense – Braden Lepisto
Defense – Joe Anastasio
Special Teams – Tyler Fisher
Offensive Rookie – Michael DiMaggio
Defensive Rookie – Jake Lewko

George A Weiss Award
To the player who best embodies the Pennsylvania kind of football
Patrick Kimener

Man of the Year Award
Honoring the alumnus who has always supported and championed the Penn Football program
Harrison “Goose Clement, W’65