Football Earns ECAC's Lambert Meadowlands Award

PHILADELPHIA --The University of Pennsylvania football team was honored at the Eastern College Football Awards Banquet on Thursday night, picking up the Lambert Meadowlands Award for FCS schools.

The Quakers shared the honor with Dartmouth and Harvard -- just as the three schools each claimed a share of the 2015 Ivy League championship. The win for the Ivy trio marks the first time the Ancient Eight had a piece of the award since Penn shared the top spot with Holy Cross in 1986.

Penn posted a 7-3 record in head coach Ray Priore's first season, and the Red and Blue's 6-1 record inside the Ivy League earned the Quakers their 17th Ivy League championship.

Priore would go on to earn Ivy League Coach of the Year honors, and linebacker Tyler Drake was named Ivy League Defensive Player of the Year. Justin Watson -- a sophomore -- was the runner-up for Ivy League Offensive Player of the Year, and was a unanimous first-team All-Ivy selection.

The Red and Blue return to the gridiron on March 15 for their first practice of the spring. The Jim Dunsmore Spring Game concludes the spring session on April 10.