Football Finishes Sixth in Lambert Meadowlands Poll

Final ECAC Lambert Meadowlands Poll

PHILADELPHIA - In the final release of the east coast rankings, the University of Pennsylvania football team finished sixth in the ECAC Lambert Meadowlands Poll.

Penn and Harvard (10th) were the only Ivy League teams to make the Top 10. The Quakers claimed the school's 14th Ivy championship and 11th outright title - a league record - in November when they capped an undefeated Ivy League season with a dominant 34-0 win over Cornell.

Penn finished the season at 8-2. Its only two losses came to teams also ranked in the Top 10 of the poll. The Quakers fell to No. 1 Villanova, the eventual national champion, in the season opener, and to No. 8 Lafayette on the road in overtime.

In the final national polls released in December, the Quakers were ranked No. 20 by the media and No. 23 by the coaches.

Established in 1936 as the Lambert Trophy to recognize supremacy in Eastern college football, the award has since grown to recognize the best team in the East in the Bowl Subdivision. In 1957, the Lambert Cup was created to recognize non-Division I-A teams, and in 1966 a Division III award was added. In 1983, the Lambert family decided the Meadowlands Sports Complex would be the best organization with a sincere and involved interest in college athletics to sponsor and manage the award, and since that time, the awards have been known as the Lambert Meadowlands Awards.

To be eligible for the Lambert Meadowlands Award, a school must be located in the East or play at least half of its schedule against eligible Lambert Meadowlands teams. The territory includes New York, New Jersey, New England and Pennsylvania, while teams in the bordering states of Delaware, Maryland, Virginia and West Virginia and the District of Columbia qualify if at least half of their schedule features eligible teams. Teams in Eastern-based football conferences, regardless of location, qualify if at least half their schedule is against Lambert Meadowlands eligible teams.

The ECAC is the nation's largest athletic and the only multi-divisional conference in the country with approximately 300 Division I, II, and III colleges and universities. The ECAC stretches from Maine to North Carolina and westerly to Illinois. Established in 1938, the ECAC, a non-profit service organization, sponsors nearly 100 championships in 37 men's and women's sports and assigns more than 4,400 officials in 12 sports. The ECAC also administers nine affiliate sports organizations and six playing leagues, and through the public relations arm of the conference, more than 2,000 student-athletes are recognized annually.

ECAC® Lambert Meadowlands
Championship Subdivision (FCS)
Football Poll
presented by FieldTurf

Record (Points)
1. Villanova, 14-1 (140)
2. William & Mary, 11-3 124
3. Richmond, 11-2 114
4. New Hampshire, 10-3 94
5. Holy Cross, 9-3 78
6. Penn, 8-2 74
7. Colgate, 9-2 46
8. Lafayette, 8-3 38
9. Delaware, 6-5 24
10. Harvard, 7-3 22
ARV: James Madison, Central Connecticut

Download: Lambert Release 10410.pdf