Football Presents Annual Postseason Awards

PHILADELPHIA - Fifteen student-athletes were honored Friday as winners ofi postseason awards at the annuall Penn Football Banquet. Senior running back Joe Sandberg and senior safety Scotty Williams were each presented with the George Munger Award as the team's offensive and defensive MVP's.

Alumnus Gary Vura W'83 was honored with the Penn Football Man of the Year award, given annually to an alumnus who has made outstanding contributions to the program.

Wide receiver Matt Carre and defensive lineman J.J. Stanton were selected by their teammates to receive the Edgar Church Memorial Award, given to the players who contributed the most to the team. The Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the team's most outstanding offensive and defensive linemen, wasawarded to left guard SeanEstradaand defensive linemen Brian Fairbanks and Naheem Harris.

Wide receiver/kicker Braden Lepisto and linebacker Joe Anastasio were selected as the team's most improved players, while tight end Chris Mizell, defensive end Jim Malizia and punter Anthony Melillo weregiven the PennFootball Club award. Quarterback Robert Irvin and cornerback Tyson Maugle were selected as the Penn Football Club offensive and defensive rookies of the year.

Right tackle Andrew Wietstock was given the George Weiss Award for exemplifying the "Pennsylvania kind of football."

2006 Penn Football Award Winners

Edgar Church Memorial Award - To the player, who by vote of the letterwinners, has contributed the most to the team.

Offense – Matt Carre

Defense – J.J. Stanton

Charles Bednarik Award – To an outstanding lineman

Offense – Sean Estrada

Defense – Brian Fairbanks / Naheem Harris

George Munger Award - To the team MVP

Offense – Joe Sandberg

Defense – Scotty Williams

Reds Bagnell Award – To the most improved player

Offense – Braden Lepisto

Defense – Joe Anastasio

Penn Football Club Award

Offense – Chris Mizell

Defense – Jim Malizia

Special Teams – Anthony Melillo

Offensive Rookie – Robert Irvin

Defensive Rookie – Tyson Maugle

George A Weiss Award - To the player who best embodies the Pennsylvania kind of football

Andrew Wietstock

Man of the Year Award- Honoring the alumnus who has always supported and championed the Penn Football program

Gary Vura W'83