Former Quaker Bill Carr Elected to USATF Hall of Fame

PHILADELPHIA – Former University of Pennsylvania track and field standout, Bill Carr, has been elected into the USA Track and Field Hall of Fame. The Class of 2008 will be inducted Saturday evening, December 6, at the Jesse Owens Awards and Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.

Carr was a two-time Olympic gold medalist, winningboth at the 1932 Los Angeles Games. Carr was anchor of the United States’ 4x400-meter relay team that finished in a world record time of 3:08.2. Carr then set the 400-meter world record of 46.28 seconds, along with winning the Olympic Trials and AAU Outdoor 400-meter titles.

Penn’s team co-captain in 1932-33, Carrwas the 1931 AAU Indoor national 300-yard champion andwon the IC4A 440-yard title in 1932. He ended the 1932 season ranked No. 1 in the world at 400 meters, and was named the men's No. 1 400-meter runner for 1925-49 by Track & Field News in their “World Athletes of the Century” issue.

Shortly after the 1932 Olympic Games, Carr was injured in an automobile accident that ended his competitive career. Carr, who was 1933 recipient of Penn’s prestigious Class of 1915 Award, is already a member of the Penn Athletics Hall of Fame and the Penn Relays Wall of Fame.

Joining Carr in the Class of 2008 are five-time American record holder in the 800 meters, Johnny Gray; the first American to break the four-minute barrier in the mile, Don Bowden; multiple World record holder Bernie Wefers; and contributor Jimmy Carnes, who was the initial President of USA Track and Field.

"All of us involved with the National Track & Field Hall of Fame are looking forward to the addition of these highly accomplished individuals to the Hall of Fame," said USATF President Bill Roe. "All five of these individuals are deserving of the highest honor in our sport. We look forward to welcoming and saluting the legacies of our three living inductees in person, and sharing cherished memories of our deceased inductees with family, friends, and colleagues."

About the National Track & Field Hall of Fame

There are four categories in which individuals may be voted into the Hall of Fame. Those categories are: Modern athletes, retired less than 25 years; Veteran athletes, retired more than 25 years or more; Coaches; and Contributors. Each category has its own selection committee that chooses the finalists from the list of nominations. Members of the selection committees examine the nominations and evaluate their merit based on objective criteria. Elections for Modern and Veteran athletes are held each year. Beginning in 2005, elections for Coaches are held in odd numbered years, with Contributors elections in even numbered years. Hall of Fame inductees, members of the National Track & Field Hall of Fame Board and Committees and members of the media comprise the electorate for the National Track & Field Hall of Fame.