Four Men's Tennis Players Earn All-Ivy Honors

PHILADELPHIA – Four members of the men’s tennis team were selected for All-Ivy honors, which were released by the Ivy League office Tuesday.

Junior Jason Pinsky led the way for the Quakers, as he was a unanimous first-team All-Ivy selection in singles, and was also selected first-team All-Ivy in doubles. This is Pinsky’s second time earning unanimous first-team All-Ivy honors in singles in his two years at Penn. Last year, he was also an honorable mention selection for doubles. Pinsky went 6-3 in Ivy League matches at No. 1 this spring, and 6-1 in the fall. He was the only player to earn first-team status at both singles and doubles.

Sophomore Jonathan Boym was also selected first-team All-Ivy in singles, after going 6-2 in the No. 2 spot this spring. It is his first time earning first-team honors; last year, he was voted Ivy League Rookie of the year, and was selected second-team all-Ivy in singles.

Junior transfer Eric Riley earned a first-team All-Ivy selection in doubles, after his first season with Penn tennis. Paired with Pinsky, the duo went 5-4 in their Ivy League matches at No. 1 doubles.

Senior captain Mikhail Bekker was also selected by the league’s coaches as honorable mention All-Ivy, after going 5-3 this spring at No. 3 singles. Bekker is no stranger to All-Ivy accolades. Last year, he was a unanimous first-team All-Ivy in singles, after tallying a 7-1 mark in league play at No. 2 singles. He was also named first-team All-Ivy his sophomore year, and was selected as Ivy League Rookie of the Year his freshman season.

Yale senior Brandon Wai was honored as Player of the Year for the second time in two years, while Columbia freshman Jonathan Wong was named Rookie of the Year.


*Chris Clayton, Harvard (Soph., Fort Lauderdale, Fla.)
*Jason Pinsky, Penn (Jr., Potomac, Md.)
*Peter Capkovic, Princeton (Soph., Bratislava, Slovakia)
*Brandon Wai, Yale (Sr., San Diego, Calif.)
Jonathan Boym, Penn (Soph., Marlboro, N.J.)
Mike Caldwell, Yale (Soph., Encinitas, Calif.)

Dan Hanegby, Brown (Sr., Herzliya, Israel)
Sratha Saengsuwarn, Princeton (Bangkok, Thailand)
Nick Brunner, Cornell (Sr., Sacramento, Calif.)
Jonathan Wong, Columbia (Fr., Melville, N.Y.)
Mark Clemente, Columbia (Jr., Monroe Township, N.J.)
Gideon Valkin, Harvard (Sr., Johannesburg, South Africa)

Jared Drucker, Columbia (Jr., Northridge, Calif.)
Dan Nguyen, Harvard (Jr., Phoenix, Ariz.)
Mikhail Bekker, Penn (Sr., Moscow, Russia)
Dave Waslen, D artmouth (Sr., Calgary, Alb.)


Brown — Dan Hanegby (Sr., Herzliya, Israel) & Saurabh Kohli (Jr., Colaba, India)
Penn — Jason Pinsky (Jr., Potomac, Md.) & Eric Riley (Jr., Woodlands,Texas)
Cornell — Nick Brunner (Sr., Sacramento, Calif.) & Joshua Raff (Sr., Haverford, Pa.)
Harvard — Ashwin Kumar (Jr., Round Rock, Texas) & Sasha Ermakov (Soph., Dallas, Texas)

Yale — Brandon Wai (Sr., San Diego, Calif.) & Rory Green (Jr., Dublin, Ireland)
Columbia — Marty Moore (Sr., Purchase, N.Y.) & Paul Ratchford (Sr., Osoyoos, B.C.)

Dartmouth — Dave Waslen (Sr., Calgary, Alb.) & Steve McGaughey (Sr., Des Moines, Iowa)

Player of the Year: Brandon Wai, Yale (Sr., San Diego, Calif.)
Rookie of the Year: Jonathan Wong, Columbia (Fr., Melville, N.Y.)

*unanimous selection