Heavyweight Rowing Set for Sprints

PHILADELPHIA – The University of Pennsylvania heavyweight rowing team heads to Worcester this weekend for EARC Sprints, looking to make waves at the conference regatta.

The Quakers will take to Lake Quinsigamond on Sunday ranked No. 11 overall in the country. Among the Varsity Eights entered this weekend, Penn is seeded No. 9 out of 18 boats. Penn’s 2V is the No. 8 seed out of 17 crews, while the 3V enters as the No. 11 seed in a field of 17. The Red and Blue’s Frosh Eight is seeded fourth out of five boats to round out the pre-regatta seeding.

Penn won a pair of Cup races this spring, defeating the No. 5 seed, Northeastern, and No. 17 George Washington early in the season. The Quakers have seen the two crews seeded just above them – Navy and Cornell – in recent weeks, finishing second to the Big Red in a close Madeira Cup race and third to the Midshipmen who were second to No. 3 seed Harvard in the Adams Cup at the end of April. Those two crews, and No. 6 Brown, are the likely challengers standing in the way of Penn reaching the Grand Final.

Penn’s last Grand Final at Sprints came in 2002 where the Red and Blue were fourth overall. Two years ago, the Quakers were 10th, their best finish since 2008. Overall, Penn has won six EARC Sprints championships and has finished in the Top-Five 39 times since 1946.

Penn Boatings for Sprints

Varsity Eight
Cox: Louis Lombardi
Stroke: Dara Alizadeh
7. Joseph Simon
6. Kevin McHale
5. Richard Censits
4. Matt Slodden
3. Matthew Wagener
2. Harry Holroyd
Bow: Robert Wallace

Second Varsity
Cox: Jacob Mendelson
Stroke: Conor Davenport
7. Jonathan Hennessy
6. Chris Matyjek
5. Peter St. Michael
4. Zachary Bandes
3. Alexander Buck
2. Kevin Kelly
Bow: Joseph Mack

Third Varsity
Cox: Lauren Hochman
Stroke: Diego Fiori
7. Jeremy Wright
6. Eliot Bok
5. Daniel kennedy-Moore
4. Chet Heldman
3. Harrison Thayer
2. Jakub Dziedzic
Bow: Sean O'Dowd

Frosh Eight
Cox: Michael Dudum
Stroke: Henry Rogers
7. Joel Kagan
6. Roel VanBroekhuizen
5. Matt Kreps
4. Mihir Dehkne
3. Ethan Stinner
2. David Loungani
Bow: Torin DiSalvo

Varsity Four
Cox: Eric Lu
Sroke: Frederick LaViolette
3. Leonard Kaminski
2. Sam Altland
Bow: Cole Speidel