Ivy League Announces Lacrosse Tournaments

PHILADELPHIA-- Ivy League Executive Director Jeff Orleans has announced that the Ivy League will begin playoff tournaments for men’s and women’s lacrosse in spring 2010 to determine the Ivy League’s automatic qualifying institutions to the NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s Lacrosse Championships.

The winners of the Ivy League title will continue to be determined by results of the League’s regular-season competitions, and in both cases the regular-season champion will host the four-team postseason competition.

“We are delighted to have this opportunity to showcase our very strong men’s and women’s lacrosse teams,” said Orleans. “And we’re also pleased that we can avoid deciding our automatic bid recipient through a tiebreaker formula if we have regular-season ties, as often has been the case.”

“Playing in a tournament setting and having the top four teams in the league all in one place is something I’m really looking forward to,” said Penn’s 10th-year women’s head coach, Karin Brower. “We play in a very strong league, and I am excited the team will have the opportunity to experience the fun of a conference tournament. It is something that every other conference does, and we are very pleased to add it to ours.”

In 2008, the Penn women defended their 2007 Ivy League title with another 7-0 Ivy record. The Quakers advanced to the NCAA national championship game, had five players named All-America, and finished 17-2 on the season.

“I think all the coaches are excited to have an end-of-year tournament,” said Penn men’s coach Brian Voelker, who enters his seventh season with the Quakers. “We agreed unanimously that this was the best way to put ourselves in a position to get multiple teams from the league into the NCAA Tournament. It will be a great weekend for the players and an opportunity to showcase the best of the Ivy League.”

The Penn men have gone 6-7 each of the last two years, after earning NCAA bids in 2004 and 2006. The Quakers have also finished in the top four of the Ivy League five of the last six seasons.

The women’s inaugural tournament will take place Friday, April 30 and Sunday, May 2 of 2010, while the men’s tournament will be played on the Friday and Sunday of the regular season’s final weekend (May 7-9, 2010).