Keystone Classic Set for November 20

PHILADELPHIA – Penn Wrestling’s annual Keystone Classic tournament will have a truly “Keystone State” feel in 2016 as five of the Commonwealth’s premier wresting programs will convene on The Palestra November 20 – a field highlighted by the defending NCAA champion Penn State Nittany Lions.

In addition to the host Quakers and Nittany Lions, other Keystone State teams scheduled to compete include Drexel, Franklin & Marshall and Pitt. Those squads will be joined by Appalachian State, Eastern Michigan, Harvard, Northwestern, Rider, Sacred Heart, and VMI inside The Palestra for one of the country’s elite early-season competitions.

The home team will be led by returning All-American Casey Kent. The junior finished fourth at the 2016 NCAA Championships at 174 pounds and will look to jump start his senior campaign with his first Keystone Classic title.

The schools entered in the 2016 Keystone Classic combined to earn seven All-American finishes last March at Madison Square Garden, led by two national championships and three runner-up finishes from the Nittany Lions. Zain Retherford, the defending 149-pound national champion will be in the lineup for Penn State in addition to returning finalists Jason Nolf and Bo Nickal.

Last year, Pittsburgh claimed the team title in a tight race with Rider and Penn. The home team had three individual champions – May Bethea, C.J. Cobb, and Lorenzo Thomas – and had nine overall placewinners.

Overall, 32 competitors from the 2015 Keystone Classic went on to compete at the NCAA Championships.

Ticket information for the 2016 Keystone Classic will be released at a later date.