Lightweights Look to Reclaim Matthews-Leonard Cup

Live Updates

PHILADELPHIA - For the first time this season, a cup will be on the line for the University of Pennsylvania men's lightweight rowing team. The Quakers head to Ithaca, N.Y., on Saturday morning to take on Ivy counterparts Cornell and Harvard at the Cayuga Inlet with the Matthews-Leonard Cup at stake.

The regatta begins at 8:40 a.m., with the novice 8 and then the Quakers battle the Big Red for the rights to the Matthews-Leonard Cup at 9:05 a.m. A complete schedule and a list of Penn's tentative boatings can be found below.

The Big Red - the 2008 national champions - have won the cup on the last 16 occassions. Penn has captured the cup 27 times with the last coming in 1990. That race was also held in Ithaca. In last year's race for the cup, Penn could not hold off the two-time defending national champions in some harsh conditions. The water was so choppy on the Schuylkill River, the boats were forced into single-file time trials. Penn finished eight seconds off the pace of the Big Red and finished third behind Harvard.

The Quakers will have some motivation heading into this weekend after being edged out by Dartmouth on the Charles River Basin last Saturday. With M.I.T. out of contention as the teams neared the finish line, the Big Greenglided across first. Dartmouth's winning time of 6:22.4 was just two seconds better than Penn's time of 6:24.5.

A complete recap and results of the regatta will be available shortly after its conclusion on

Complete Schedule
8:40 1F Lightweight Men
9:05 1V Lightweight Men
9:30 2V Lightweight Men
9:55 3V Lightweight Men
10:20 2F Lightweight Men (No Penn Entry)

Tentative Boatings
Varsity Eight
Cox: Jason Bernstein
Stroke: Mike Fisher
7: Nate Keane
6: Hurst Nuckols
5: Paul Shay
4: Andrew Voss
3: Adam Funk
2: Peter Cuillo
Bow: Andrew McGrath

2nd Varsity Eight
Cox: Dominic Nucci
Stroke: Matt Crump
7: Marshall McNabb
6: Adam Neinstein
5: Oliver Hurd
4: Paul Rivenburgh
3: Brad Adams
2: Dave Mannion
Bow: Will Cooper

3rd Varsity
Cox: Lin He
Stroke: Boyan Makarenko
7: Jamie Napoli
6: Ryan Taras
5: Vinny Valant
4: Alec McKinley
3: Ben McGuire
2: Kevin Chang
Bow: Matt Cabrera

Freshman Eight

Cox: Josh Ramos
Stroke: Ray Andruszko
7: Mark Gannon
6: Nico Mihalich
5: Andrew Bauder
4: James Shovlin
3: Alan Chan
2: Mike Kozlow
Bow: Sean Travers