Lightweights Open Season Saturday on Schuylkill

Follow @pennlwt

PHILADELPHIA - Its racing season for the University of Pennsylvania lightweights. The Quakers will hit the water on Saturday to start the spring season against Mercyhurst on the Schuylkill River.

The first regatta of the spring will begin with the fours at 10 a.m. That will be followed by the freshman race at 10:20 a.m., which will also include Penn's third varsity. The varsity boats will square off at 10:40 a.m., including Penn's second varsity. In all, the Quakers will have five boats competing at the opening regatta.

This will mark the second straight year the Quakers have started the spring season against Mercyhurst.Despite the rain last year, the water was flat and the Red and Blue raced out to an early lead that they did not relent. The Quakers won with open water over the Lakers and stopped the clock at 5:48.4. That was 10 seconds better than Mercyhurst.Penn's freshman boat also won by an open-water margin.

Penn's last race was nearly five months ago to the day. ThePenn freshmen finished as runner-ups in the eights in a field of 32 boats at the Head of the Schuylkill and the following morning, the varsity was 11th at the Princeton Chase.

A full recap of Saturday's season-opening regatta will be available on shortly after the conclusion of the day's races.

Tentative Boatings

1st Varsity 8+
Coxswain: Alex Weinrich
Stroke: Jasper Liu
7: Julian Mazaira
6: Jake Ford
5: Sam Ward
4: Matt Weaver
3: Jeff Wang
2: Parker Lange
Bow: Landis Walsh

2nd Varsity 8+
Coxswain: Allison Jacoby
Stroke: Zach Howell
7: Mark Dignam
6: Brian Kraus
5: Andrew Zhu
4: Mike Donahue
3: John Earle
2: Dan Schwarz
Bow: Adam Millar

3rd Varsity 8+
Coxswain: Genny Liebes
Stroke: Alex Cosio
7: Anthony Faustini
6: Casey Howshall
5: Alex Moses
4: Joey Harrison
3: Jason Richter
2: Connor Brady
Bow: Kris Mack

1st Freshmen 8+
Coxswain: Natalie Burke
Stroke: James Konopka
7: Leo Pratt
6: Joe Ebner
5: Jack Smallwood
4: Ethan Genyk
3: Mark Roberts
2: Dylan Mann
Bow: Jackson Connor

4th Varsity 4+
Coxswain: Miguel Zaldivar
Stroke: Steven Jacobson
3: Edie Okon
2: Sam Collins
Bow: Ben Barton