Lightweights Take All Three Freshman Races in Season Opener

Results vs. Delaware

Results vs. Williams

Lightweight Twitter Updates

Photo Gallery (courtesy Maria Shepherd)

PHILADELPHIA - In the season opener for the University of Pennsylvania men's lightweight rowing team, the Quakers posted wins in each freshman race and the varsity placed second to Delaware Saturday on the Schuylkill River.

In the varsity race, the Quakers pulled in front at the start, but the Blue Hens caught the Red and Blue and held off the Penn varsity for a four-second victory. Delaware's winning time was 6:10.7 and the Quakers finished in 6:14.6.

Both freshman boats won in their collegiate debuts. The first freshman boat jumped out to an early lead and held a healthy lead throughout to collect the open-water win in their first collegiate regatta. Penn finished the course in 6:16.6 with Delaware posting a finish of 6:20.8.

In the first race of the year, the second freshman 4+ also posted an open water victory as they cruised past Delaware with a 16-second victory. The Quakers clocked out at 7:29.2, with the Blue Hens crossing the finish at 7:45.7.

Also against the Blue Hens, the second and third varsity boats had runner-up finishes. The second varsity finished in 6:25.5 to place second behind Delaware's time of 6:20.9. Then, Delaware claimed the final race of the morning with a time of 6:58.6. The Quakers were just a few strokes behind at 7:01.9.

Later in the afternoon, the Quakers took on the heavyweights from Williams. Once again, the freshman boat claimed a runaway victory. Penn was 21 seconds better than their New England counterparts with a winning finish of 6:38.3. The heavyweight crews from Williams claimed the varsity race with a time of 6:09.6 to Penn's 6:16.2, and the second varsity race with a time of 6:24.6 to Penn's 6:27.6.

Up next for the lightweights is the first cup race of the season. Penn hosts Cornell and Harvard on the Schuylkill River Saturday morning with the Quakers and Big Red battling for the rights to the Matthews-Leonard Cup.