Lightweights Take on No. 2 Columbia, No. 6 Yale

Follow @pennlwt

PHILADELPHIA - Another matchup with highly-ranked opponents awaits the University of Pennsylvania lightweights on Saturday. The No. 10 Quakers head to Overpeck Park in Leonia, N.J., to take on No. 2 Columbia and No. 6 Yale.

The afternoon regatta begins at 3 p.m., with the third varsity race. That is followed by the second varsity at 3:20 p.m., and the Dodge Cup will be decided at 3:40 p.m. The racing concludes with the fours at 4 p.m.

This is the 56th Dodge Cup between these three schools. Yale has won 11 straight and leads with 36 overall wins. Penn is second with 15 victories, while Columbia has won four times. The Quakers last claimed the Dodge Cup in 1992 with a victory on the Schuylkill River.

Last year, the Penn freshmen won despite a collision, and the Bulldogs varsity led wire-to-wire on their home course, but it was a close contest for much of the race. Yale won with a time of 5:34.99 and Columbia eventually pushed away from the Quakers to finish second at 5:37.13. The Quakers crossed the finish line in 5:45.40.

Last week, the Penn varsity finished third to No. 1 Cornell and No. 3 Harvard on the Schuylkill River on a very windy morning in Philadelphia.

A full recap of Saturday's regattacan be found at shortlyfollowing its conclusion.

Tentative Schedule

3:00pm - 3rd Varsity 8+
3:20pm - 2nd Varsity 8+
3:40pm - 1st Varsity 8+
4:00pm - Varsity 4+

Tentative Boatings

1st Varsity 8+
Coxswain: Alex Weinrich
Stroke: Jasper Liu
7: Julian Mazaira
6:Parker Lange
5: Sam Ward
4: Jake Ford
3: Jeff Wang
2:Matt Lieber
Bow: Landis Walsh

2nd Varsity 8+
Coxswain: Genny Liebes
Stroke: Zach Howell
7: Matt Weaver
6: Brian Kraus
5: Mark Dignam
4: Casey Howshall
3: Andrew Zhu
2: Dan Schwarz
Bow: Adam Millar

3rd Varsity 8+
Coxswain: Natalie Burke
Stroke: Leo Pratt
7: James Konopka
6: Jackson Connor
5: Joe Ebner
4: Jack Smallwood
3: Anthony Faustini
2: Mark Roberts
Bow: Ethan Genyk

Varsity 4+ “A”
Coxswain: Allison Jacoby
Stroke: Alex Cosio
3:Dylan Mann
2: Connor Brady
Bow:John Earle

Varsity 4+ “B"
Stroke: Alex Moses
3: Mike Donahue
2: Jason Richter
Bow: Joey Harrison