McMahon One of 10 Finalists for Senior CLASS Award

Follow @PennMensLax

PHILADELPHIA – University of Pennsylvania senior defenseman Matt McMahon is one of 10 NCAAmen’s lacrosse student-athletes to be selected as finalists today for the 2014-15 Senior CLASS Award for collegiate lacrosse. To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Fans can vote as often as once a day for their Senior CLASS Award choice. We encourage all members of the Penn Lacrosse community to do their part and VOTE FOR MATT!

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 30 candidates announced in March. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through May 11. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award recipient will be announced during the 2015 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse National Championships in Philadelphia, May 23-25.

McMahon was an honorable mention All-Ivy pick a year ago, and a preseason honorable mention All-America selection by Inside Lacrosse. He entered this week ninth nationally in caused turnovers per game (1.90). One of this year’s captains, McMahon also was drafted by Major League Lacrosse’s Ohio Machine in late January and can join that team after the season is over. Click here to read his entire bio, with all of his on- and off-field services.

For more information on each of the finalists, visit

Men’s Lacrosse Finalists

Erik Adamson, Denver

Conrad Oberbeck, Yale

Connor Buczek, Cornell

David Planning, Ohio State

Ryan McGee, Saint Joseph’s

Kevin Rice, Syracuse

Terry McKenna, Holy Cross

Joey Sankey, North Carolina

Matt McMahon, Pennsylvania

Sam Somers, U.S. Military Academy