Men's Basketball Announces 2014-15 Schedule

PHILADELPHIA – The University of Pennsylvania’s John R. Rockwell Head Coach of Men’s Basketball, Jerome Allen W’09, has announced the program’s 2014-15 schedule. The Quakers will play a 28-game slate, with 14 of those games at The Palestra.

“We are excited about the upcoming season,” said Allen, who enters his fifth full season at the Penn helm. “Although we are preparing for the upcoming season, our effort and concentration does not go past opening night. We are already looking forward to getting started on November 15.”

Prior to the start of the regular season, the Penn men’s and women’s basketball programs will host the annual Red & Blue Scrimmages on Saturday, Oct. 25. In addition to the usual scrimmages by both of the current teams, a new twist has been added as the annual alumni game will also take place that day. (In previous years the alumni game has been held on an Ivy League weekend.)

Penn will once again host two Philadelphia Big 5 games this season; after playing its first two on the road at Temple (Tuesday, Nov. 25) and La Salle (Tuesday, Dec. 30), the Quakers will host Villanova (Saturday, Jan. 17) and Saint Joseph’s (Saturday, Jan. 24) on back-to-back Saturdays ahead of Ivy League weekend play.

Penn and Princeton will renew their rivalry at the Tigers’ Jadwin Gym on Saturday, Jan. 10, with the rematch coming as always on the Tuesday after the final Ivy weekend (March 10).

Penn jumps right into the fire on the Ivy League’s opening weekend, January 30-31, as Dartmouth and defending champion Harvard come to The Palestra to test the Quakers. Penn is at Cornell and Columbia the following weekend (Feb. 6-7), before returning home to host Yale and Brown (Feb. 13-14).

Penn is on the road for consecutive Ivy weekends after that, hitting Harvard and Dartmouth (Feb. 20-21) and then Brown and Yale (Feb. 27-28). The Quakers will be home for their final three Ivy League games, hosting Columbia and Cornell (March 6-7) before the March 10 finale with Princeton.

The Quakers will open the 2014-15 season with Delaware State on Saturday, Nov. 15, the first of five games the Quakers will play in November. Penn hosts Rider on Tuesday, Nov. 18, and then Lafayette on Saturday, Nov. 22. The first road trip will be up Broad to face Temple, and then on the Saturday of Thanksgiving weekend Penn is at Wagner.

Penn opens December play at Navy on Wednesday, Dec. 3, and follows it up with a trip to Binghamton to face the Bearcats on Saturday, Dec. 6. Marist comes to The Palestra on Tuesday, Dec. 9 in the last game before fall-term exams. Following exams, the Quakers travel to Nashville to face SEC foe Vanderbilt in the Commodores’ famed Memorial Gymnasium on Monday, Dec. 22.

Penn has slotted two other games that are not Big 5 or Ivy League contests in January, traveling to Niagara on Tuesday, Jan. 13 and hosting Monmouth on Wednesday, Jan. 21.