Men's Basketball Hands Out 2015-16 Team Awards

Follow @PennBasketball

PHILADELPHIA -The University of Pennsylvania men's basketball program held its annual end-of-season banquet on Sunday, April 10 at the Inn at Penn. During the event, three players received awards.

Senior center Darien Nelson-Henrywas this year's recipient of the Arthur Kiefaber Most Valuable Player Award. A second-team All-Ivy and All-Big 5 selection, Nelson-Henry finished the season as Penn’s leading scorer (12.7 points per game) and rebounder (8.1 rpg) and also led the team with 33 blocked shots. He had 19 double-figure scoring games and nine double-doubles this season, and finished his career with 1,054 career points. Nelson-Henry also finished his career with a .556 field-goal percentage, which is third on Penn’s all-time list behind only Matt White (.591 from 1977-79) and Bruce Lefkowitz (.587 from 1984-87).

Senior guard Jamal Lewiswas named the Bus McDonald Award winner as the team's Most Inspirational Player. After seeing regular time as a freshman and sophomore, Lewis got so ill that he nearly passed away ahead of his junior year. He eventually recovered and came back to play in 25 of Penn’s 28 games this season, averaging nearly 10 minutes per appearance. Lewis finished the season with 62 points, 22 assists and seven steals.

Freshman guard Jackson Donahuewas the 2015-16 recipient of the G. Fred DiBona Award as the team's top newcomer. Donahue -- no relation to head coach Steve Donahue -- averaged 9.7 points per game, and led the team with 62 three-point baskets. He also led all Ivy League players in three-point baskets per game in Ivy play, with 2.9, and was third in minutes per game. Donahue hit double digits in the scoring column in 14 of Penn’s last 20 games, including a career-best 25-point game at Cornell. He also had 32 assists and 15 steals.

In Coach Donahue’s first season, Penn went 11-17 overall -- its highest win total since the 2011-12 season -- including a 5-9 mark in the Ivy League. The Quakers are expected to return all but two players from this year’s roster.