Men's Golf Earns Spot in NCAA West Regional

NCAA Men's Golf Championships information

PHILADELPHIA - The University of Pennsylvania men’s golf team has earned a bid into the NCAA West Regional Championships. The 27-team regional -- as well as the East and Central Regional Tournament fields -- were announced Monday evening by the NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Committee.

The Quakers, who won the Ivy League team title on April 22, will compete with 26 other teams and six individuals at the Karsten Creek Golf Course in Tempe, Arizona, from May 17-19. The regional is being hosted by Arizona State University.

Penn -- led by third-year head coach Rob Powelson -- was represented at the Ivy League Championships by senior Sean Barrett, juniors Dean Merrill and Nick Ryder, sophomore Michael Blodgett, and freshman Chance Pipitone. That quintet will represent the Quakers in Tempe.

All three regional tournaments, encompassing the current nine golf sub-regions, will be conducted May 17-19. A total of 27 teams and six individuals not on selected teams were assigned to each regional site. Ten teams and two individuals not on advancing teams will move on from each regional to the championship finals.

The NCAA National Golf Championships will be conducted May 30-June 2 at the Gold Course at Golden Horseshoe Golf Club in Williamsburg, Virginia. Virginia Commonwealth University is the host institution for this year’s championships.

May 17-19
ASU Karsten Creek Golf Course (Tempe, Ariz.)
Hosted by the Arizona State University

Teams (seeded in the following order)
1. Stanford
4. Southern California (Pacific-10 Conference)
5. East Tennessee State (Atlantic Sun Conference)
6. Brigham Young (Mountain West Conference)
7. Arizona State
8. Wake Forest
9. Arizona
10. UC Irvine (Big West Conference)
11. South Carolina
12. Washington
13. Vanderbilt
14. Augusta State
15. Pepperdine (West Coast Conference)
16. San Diego State
17. New Mexico
18. Oregon State
19. Colorado State
20. Oregon
21. California
22. Nevada (Western Athletic Conference)
23. Denver
24. Pennsylvania (Ivy Group)
25. Detroit (Horizon League)
26. Bucknell (Patriot League)
27. Monmouth (Northeast Conference)

1. Brian Locke, Loyola Marymount
2. Dustin Pimm, Utah
3. Darrin Hall, San Diego
4. Michael McRae, St. Mary’s (California)
5. Geoff Gonzalez, Cal Poly
6. Thomas Petersson, Pacific