Men's Soccer Places Three on All-Ivy Team

PHILADELPHIA--Seniors Derek Hobson and Keith Vereb were named to the 2007 All-Ivy Second Team while newcomer Loukas Tasigianis was an honorable mention. The League announced its selections Wednesday.

Hobson, a midfielder from San Diego, Calif., was Penn leading scorer in 2007 with four goals and four assists. It was his best scoring season of his career with the Quakers and earned him his third consecutive All-Ivy nod. In his last outing in the Red and Blue, Hobson scored on a penalty kick to tie the match that the Quakers went on to win. In his career, Hobson started in all but four matches and scored nine goals and nine assists.

A Fellow senior, Vereb (Bowie, Md.)also made his third consecutive appearance on the All-Ivy list. Vereb was a contributor from the beginning missing just one start in 47 matches in the Red and Blue. He scored 12 goals and four assists from his defensive position. A clutch player, Vereb has made goal line saves and scored three game-winners. Two more of his goals sent the match to overtime, including a late-game free kick against Penn State this season.

Tasigianis impressed the Ivies with four goals and two assists this season and was the third in team points. A native of Ridgefield, N.J., the forward scored a double-overtime goal against Yale and pocketed Ivy League Rookie of the Week honors for his efforts.

The Quakers finished the season 6-9-2 overall and 3-4-0 in the Ancient Eight, good for a tie for fourth in the standings.

First Team All-Ivy (12)
*Andre Akpan, Harvard (Sr., F, Grand Prairie, Texas)
Kevin Davies, Brown (Sr., F, Port Washington, N.Y.)
Mike Fucito, Harvard (Jr., F, Westford, Mass.)
Matt Hoff, Harvard (Sr., F, St. Louis, Mo.)
Dylan Sheehan, Brown (Jr., F, Wolfville, Nova Scotia)
Nick Elenz-Martin, Brown (So., M, Encinitas, Calif.)
Brian Kuritzky, Cornell (Sr., M, Croton, N.Y.)
*Kyle McHugh, Princeton (Sr., M, Baldwin, Md.)
Rhett Bernstein, Brown (Jr., D, San Diego, Calif.)
*Matthew Britner, Brown (Sr., D, Halifax, Nova Scotia)
Alejandro Frischeisen, Dartmouth (Sr., D, Garden City, N.J.)
Sean Milligan, Dartmouth (Jr., GK, Westport, Conn.)
* - Unanimous selection

Second Team All-Ivy (10)
Matt Bouraee, Cornell (So., F, Manasquan, N.J.)
Craig Henderson, Dartmouth (Jr., F, Wellington, New Zealand)
Alex Guzinski, Yale (Jr., M, Palo Alto, Calif.)
Derek Hobson, Penn (Sr., M, San Diego, Calif.)
Daniel Keat, Dartmouth (So., M, Wellington, New Zealand)
Tom Heinbockel, Columbia (Sr., M, Seaford, N.Y.)
Thomas Lobben, Dartmouth (Sr., D, Glen Head, N.Y.)
Kwaku Nyamekye, Harvard (So., D, Geneva, Switzerland)
Keith Vereb, Penn (Sr., D, Bowie, Md.)
Paul Grandstrand, Brown (Fr., GK, Orono, Minn.)

Honorable Mention (10)
F- Loukas Tasigianis, Penn (Fr., Ridgefield, N.J.)
M- Matt Care, Princeton (Jr., Newtown, Pa.); Matt Carroll, Dartmouth (Jr., North Andover, Mass.); Darren Howerton, Brown (Jr., Northboro, Mass.); Devin Muntz, Princeton (So., Macungie, Pa.); Jordan Raybould, Yale (So., Kansas City, Mo.); Chris Roland, Brown (So., Rochester, N.Y.); John Stamatis, Harvard (Jr., Mountainside, N.J.)
D - Kyle Lynch, Cornell (Sr., Fairfax, Va.)
GK- Erik Geiger, Yale (Sr., Chatham, N.J.)

Player of the Year
Matthew Britner, Brown (Sr., D, Halifax, Nova Scotia)

Rookie of the Year
Paul Grandstrand, Brown (Fr., GK, Orono, Minn.)