Men's Tennis Begins Princeton Invitational on Friday

PHILADELPHIA - The Penn men's tennis team begins its 2012-13 season this weekend at the Princeton Invitational, starting on Friday and concluding with finals in singles and doubles on Sunday. Head Coach David Geatz will send a contingent of 10 Quakers to the Lenz Tennis Center, where all matches of the tournament will be held unless inclement weather forces a move inside to Jadwin Gymnasium.

Competition begins Friday with six flights of action in singles and three in doubles. Each flight will have 16 individuals or teams, with a consolation draw as well as a winner's bracket. Friday's action will consist of two rounds of singles play and one round of doubles.

Of the 14 schools sending athletes, five - Penn, Princeton, Columbia, Cornell and Yale - are from the Ivy League, while conferences such as the ACC (Boston College, Wake Forest), Big East (Georgetown, St. John's) and Big Ten (Penn State) are also represented.

At last season's Princeton Invitational, Jeremy Court blew past the competition to win the Flight D singles title in his collegiate debut. This time around, Court hopes to repeat the feat as Penn's lone entry into the Flight A draw.

A complete list of Penn's Friday draw is below:

Flight A
Jeremy Court vs. John Huang (Yale)
(will face Arvis Berzins (FDU) or (2) Matija Pecotic (Princeton))

Flight B
Nikola Kocovic vs. Ibrahim Shams (FDU)
(will face Matt Barry (Penn St.) or Ivan Vereshchaga (Buffalo))

Zach Katz vs. Damien David (Buffalo)
(will face Robin Lesage (Binghamton) or Sam Fleck (Cornell))

Flight C
Blaine Willenborg vs. Sam Bloom (Wake Forest)
(will face Kyle Dawson (Yale) or Billy Grokenberger (BC))

Vim De Alwis vs. Jonathan Carcione (Princeton)
(will face Aswin Nambi (Binghamton) or Dragos Ignat (Columbia))

Flight D
Rob Wong vs. Michael McGinnis (Boston College)
(will face Jason Brown (Yale) or play-in winner)

Austin Kaplan vs. Martin Svenning (Yale)
(will face Eric Rubin (Columbia) or Kelly Morque (Bucknell))

Flight E
Sylvester Wee vs. Julien Philippe (FDU)
(will face Brendan Henry (Wake Forest) or Daniel Faierman (Yale))

Flight F
Andrew Berman vs. Josh Katten (Bucknell)
(will face MJ Every (St. John's) or Shane Korber (Georgetown))

Jason Magnes vs. Dom Devaux-Lovell (FDU)
(will face Brett Cromwell (Cornell) or Ramy Labna (Penn St.))

Flight A
Court/Katz vs. Andy Dottino/Reese Milner (Georgetown)
Kocovic/Wee vs. Vasko Mladenov/Hugo Morth (St. John's)

Flight B
Kaplan/Willenborg vs. Vusa Hova/Akhil Mehta (Buffalo)
Wong/De Alwis vs. Mark Hemy/Markus Sjoberg (FDU)

Flight C
Berman/Magnes vs. Sam Bloom/Brendan Henry (Wake Forest)