Mike Bagnoli Named CSFL Player of the Year

PHILADELPHIA - For the sixth time in program history, Penn sprint football had a player voted CSFL Most Valuable Player, as Mike Bagnoli was chosen best in the league by the CSFL's head coaches.

Bagnoli was the leading force on Penn's impressive rushing attack, finishing his senior season with 1,008 rushing yards and 11 touchdowns. His 1,000-yard season was just the third in Penn sprint football history (Tim Ortman did so twice in 1998 and 1999) and gave Bagnoli two of the four best rushing seasons in Quaker history. Bagnoli's final game in a Penn uniform was the best of his career as he went for 266 yards and four touchdowns in a title-clinching win over Princeton.

With this MVP selection, Bagnoli joins Tom Morrin (1993), Clint Schmidt (1996), Ortman (1998, 1999) and Scott Moore (2000) as Penn players to be named CSFL MVP.

In addition to being named MVP, Bagnoli was also named first-team All-CSFL, joining five other teammates as first-team all-league. Wide receiver Whit Shaw, center Matt Manin, defensive lineman Anthony DiBella, linebacker Sam Biddle and punter Raiam Santos were all named first-team All-CSFL by the league's coaches. This group is no stranger to All-SCFL honors as Bagnoli and Santos earned their third first-team selections while Biddle and Shaw picked up their second. DiBella was honorable mention All-CSFL in 2009.

Quarterback Todd Busler was named second-team All-CSFL after passing for 11 touchdowns and rushing for a pair. Joining him as second-team All-CSFL honorees are offensive lineman Mike Paci, tight end Matt Wetherall, defensive lineman Gage O'Connell, linebacker Alexander Starr, linebacker Zak Klinvex, defensive back Colin Dampier and Santos who was named second-team placekicker to go with first-team punting honors.

The Red and Blue also had 12 players named honorable mention All-CSFL for their work on the gridiron in 2010. Defensive backs Ted Rawlings and Marcus Goodwin, offensive linemen Jordan Colbert, Chris Nagle and Shane Curry, kicker Mark Dziemianowicz, defensive lineman Matt Cuccinello, linebacker Jack Miller, wide receivers Andrew Donald, Freddy Ordonez, Joe Squadroni and Dave Hubsher were all honored by the league as Penn had 26 overall recipients of all-league honors.

The Quakers finished the 2010 season with a 6-1 record and were CSFL Co-Champions, claiming the league crown for the fourth time in program history.