Nakamura to be Inducted into EIWA Hall of Fame

Follow @PennWrestling

PHILADELPHIA – Three-time EIWA champion and two-time NCAA All-American Yoshi Nakamura W’02 has been selected for enshrinement into the EIWA Hall of Fame as part of its Class of 2015, the enshrinement ceremony set for March 7, 2015 at the EIWA Championships at Lehigh.

One of eight multiple-time All-Americans in Penn Wrestling history, Nakamura was seventh at 157 pounds in 2001 before capping his career with a third-place finish at the same weight in 2002. Nakamura would reach the semifinals at the 2002 NCAA Championships, where he was edged in a tiebreaker. He would go on to win his two consolation round matches, finishing his collegiate career with a pin of Oklahoma State’s Shane Roller in the first period.

Nakamura is also one of six Penn wrestlers to win three EIWA championships during his career, claiming conference titles in 1999, 2001, and 2002. He was named the 2002 Ivy League Wrestler of the Year, capping two first-team All-Ivy seasons during his career. He was a member of four Ivy League championship teams during his time in University City.

While competing at Penn, Nakamura placed thirdat the 2001 Freestyle World Team Trials. He later placed sixth at the 2004 US Olympic Trials mini-tournament and won a University Freestyle national championship. He also holds a first-degree black belt in Judo, was a seven-time Junior National Judo champion and a High School national champion.

Nakamura received a B.S. in economics from Wharton, with a concentration in management. He currently is a Director at Citigroup in the US Institutional Equity Sales Division. He serves on the Board of Directors of Beat the Streets, New York City, and resides in Manhattan with his wife and two daughters. In the recently produced award-winning movie, Foxcatcher, Yoshi plays the role of a Japanese wrestler.

Nakamura will be the tenth member of the Penn Wrestling program inducted into the EIWA Hall of Fame. He joins Robert Allman, W. Austin Bishop, Richard DiBattista, Mike Dorizas, Sam Gerson, Brett Matter, David Pottruck, Roger Reina, Brandon Slay, and Matt Valenti as Quakers enshrined by the EIWA.