Penn XC Earns Top-5 Finishes at Princeton Invitational

Princeton Invitational: Women's Results | Men's Results

PRINCETON, N.J. - Junior Isabel Griffith and freshman Aaron Groff led the University of Pennsylvania women’s and men’s cross country teams at the Princeton Invitational held on Oct. 15th in Princeton, N.J.

The Quakers raced to two top-5 team finishes on Saturday, with the men placing third of 23 teams and the women pacing themselves to a fifth place team finish.

Isabel Griffith led the Red and Blue women, finishing in eighth place out of 215 competitors while the Quaker women had all five scoring women place in the top-40 in the individual standings. Olivia Ryan earned the second scoring position on the team, finishing the 6k course in 22:04 while Marin Warner was 10 seconds behind in 31st place. Karli Visconto  and Lily Huntsman rounded out the Penn scoring women, placing 34th and 37th.

The men were equally impressive with three freshman finishing as scoring members in the team standings. Groff led the way in 16th as he recorded a time of 24:39, while senior Lyle was right behind in 17th finishing just three-tenths behind. William and Colin Daly also provided strong performances in 23rd and 24th, while Sam Webb rounded out the Penn top-5 in 27th place in 24:45.

Today’s meet concluded an exciting weekend of racing for the Red and Blue; Penn also performed at the prestigious Nuttycombe Wisconsin Invitational on Friday, Oct. 14th where the women placed 14th and the men 20th, respectively, in the overall team standings.

The Quakers will return to action next week when they race in the Haverford Invitational on Friday, Oct. 21st starting at 4:30 p.m.


Penn Women’s Top-7 Results
Team: 5th of 22 teams (133 pts.)

8. Isabel Griffith – 21:40
23. Olivia Ryan – 22:04
31. Marin Warner – 22:14
34. Karli Visconto – 22:19
37. Lily Huntsman – 22:22
(46.) Carole Harsch – 22:33
(53.) Julianna Catania – 22:37

Penn Men’s Top-7 Results
Team: 3rd of 23 teams (107 pts.)

16. Aaron Groff – 24:39
17. Lyle Wistar – 24:39
23. William Daly – 24:43
24. Colin Daly – 24:43
27. Sam Webb – 24:45
(28.) Thomas Connelly – 24:47
(96.) Robert Klopf – 25:45