Penn Announces 2005-06 Men's Basketball Schedule

PHILADELPHIA - The University of Pennsylvania has announced its men’s basketball schedule for 2005-06.

The Quakers will tip off the season Monday, Nov. 21 when Siena – coached by former Penn player and assistant coach Fran McCaffery – comes to town for a 7 p.m. start. In fact, all of Penn’s first five games will take place in The Palestra.

Undoubtedly the highlight of the schedule occurs Wednesday, Dec. 7 when the Quakers travel to Duke to take on the preseason No. 1 Blue Devils in a game that will air nationally on ESPN2. Other highlights of the schedule include Tuesday, Nov. 29, when Big 12 Conference member Colorado comes to The Palestra; a trip to Hawaii between Christmas and New Year’s, where Penn will play Hawaii (Thursday, Dec. 29) and BYU-Hawaii (Saturday, Dec. 31); and a trip to Charleston, S.C. where the Quakers will meet the Citadel. Penn also will visit another historic college venue, Fordham’s Rose Hill Gym, on Monday, Jan. 9.

On the 50th anniversary of the Big Five, Penn will entertain all of the other Division I men’s basketball programs in the city at The Palestra this season. The Quakers host Drexel on Saturday, Nov. 26; Temple on Saturday, Dec. 3; Villanova on Tuesday, Dec. 13; La Salle on Wednesday, Jan. 25; and Saint Joseph’s on Saturday, Jan. 28. Penn will be part of two doubleheaders at The Palestra, on Nov. 29 (along with Drexel-Saint Joseph’s) and Dec. 3 (Big Five Classic, the other game being La Salle-Drexel).

The Quakers will meet two Patriot League opponents this season, Navy (Friday, Dec. 2) and Lafayette (Monday, Jan. 16) which is coached by Fran O’Hanlon, a former assistant coach under Dunphy at Penn.

The Ivy League schedule begins the weekend of Jan. 13-14, when Penn hosts Cornell (Friday) and Columbia (Saturday). In fact, the Quakers will play their first four Ivy League games at home – the catch being that five of the last seven will be on the road. This year’s Princeton games will take place Tuesday, Feb. 14 (at The Palestra) and Tuesday, March 7 (at Princeton).

"I think we have put together a challenging schedule,” said Penn head coach Fran Dunphy, who enters his 17th season. “We are giving our guys a number of opportunities to form some great memories and have some great experiences. We are excited to play a major part in the 50th anniversary year of the Big Five, with all the Philadelphia-area teams coming to The Palestra, and we have a national flavor to the schedule, as well. We are looking forward to getting going.”

The complete television schedule will be announced at a later date.

2005-06 PENN MEN’S BASKETBALL SCHEDULE (all times Eastern)

Day, Date – Opponent, Time

Monday, Nov. 21 – SIENA, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 26 – DREXEL, 2 p.m.

Tuesday, Nov. 29 – COLORADO, 8:30 p.m.

Friday, Dec. 2 – NAVY, 5 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 3 – TEMPLE^, 2:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Dec. 7 – at Duke, 7 p.m. (ESPN2)

Tuesday, Dec. 13 – VILLANOVA^, 7 p.m.

Thursday, Dec. 29 – at Hawaii, 1 a.m. (7 p.m. HAST)

Saturday, Dec. 31 – at BYU-Hawaii, 11 p.m. (5 p.m. HAST)

Wednesday, Jan. 4 – at The Citadel, 7:15 p.m.

Monday, Jan. 9 – at Fordham, 7:30 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 13 – CORNELL*, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 14 – COLUMBIA*, 7 p.m.

Monday, Jan. 16 – LAFAYETTE, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, Jan. 25 – LA SALLE^, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 28 – SAINT JOSEPH’S^, 7 p.m.

Friday, Feb. 3 – BROWN*, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 4 – YALE*, 7 p.m.

Friday, Feb. 10 – at Dartmouth*, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 11 – at Harvard*, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 14 – PRINCETON*, 7 p.m.

Friday, Feb. 17 – at Columbia*, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 18 – at Cornell*, 8:30 p.m.

Friday, Feb. 24 – HARVARD*, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 25 – DARTMOUTH*, 7 p.m.

Friday, March 3 – at Yale*, 7 p.m.

Saturday, March 4 – at Brown*, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, March 7 – at Princeton*, 9 p.m.

*Ivy League game

^Big Five game

-Written by Mike Mahoney, director of athletic communications