Penn Announces 2005-06 Women's Basketball Schedule

PHILADELPHIA – The University of Pennsylvania has announced its women’s basketball schedule for 2005-06.

The Quakers will tip things off this season by hosting Lehigh on Friday, Nov. 18, and then Temple on Tuesday, Nov. 22. Following that, the Penn women will travel to Seattle for a tournament hosted by the University of Washington over the Thanksgiving weekend. Rice and San Diego will be the other teams in the event.

On the 25th anniversary of Big Five Women’s Basketball, the Quakers will play Temple and Saint Joseph’s (Wednesday, Dec. 7) at The Palestra. Penn also will travel to Villanova (Sunday, Dec. 4) and La Salle (Tuesday, Jan. 24).

The Ivy League season begins with Penn’s travel partner, Princeton, on Saturday, Jan. 7 at the Palestra; one week later, the Quakers hit the road to play Cornell (Friday, Jan. 13) and Columbia (Saturday, Jan. 14). The women will play four of their first five conference games on the road, but end with six of their last nine at home. Defending champion Dartmouth comes to The Palestra on Friday, Feb. 10.

"We feel this season’s schedule, though absent a few top 20 teams from last season, is still very challenging due to the graduation of five seniors and the addition of six new players,” said Penn head coach Patrick Knapp, who enters his second season. “All of our non-conference games are of significance to us, with the Big Five games taking on extra importance. Then it is on to a much-improved Ivy League schedule, where everyone will be looking to dethrone Dartmouth. However, no coach or player will have the luxury of looking past any Ivy member, I think, because all of them will be tough."

Individual game ticket prices for the 2005-06 Penn Women's Basketball season are $5 for adults, $3 for students. To view more information on Women's Basketball tickets, click here.

2005-06 PENN WOMEN’S BASKETBALL SCHEDULE

Day, Date – Opponent

Friday, Nov. 18 – LEHIGH

Tuesday, Nov. 22 – TEMPLE

Nov. 25-26 – University of Washington Tournament (Seattle, Wash.)

w/Washington, Rice, San Diego

Wednesday, Nov. 30 – at Delaware

Sunday, Dec. 4 – at Villanova

Wednesday, Dec. 7 – SAINT JOSEPH’S

Saturday, Dec. 10 – at American

Thursday, Dec. 22 – at Drexel

Saturday, Dec. 31 – MARIST

Saturday, Jan. 7 – PRINCETON*

Tuesday, Jan. 10 – RIDER

Friday, Jan. 13 – at Cornell*

Saturday, Jan. 14 – at Columbia*

Thursday, Jan. 19 – LAFAYETTE

Tuesday, Jan. 24 – at La Salle

Friday, Feb. 3 – at Brown*

Saturday, Feb. 4 – at Yale*

Friday, Feb. 10 – DARTMOUTH*

Saturday, Feb. 11 – HARVARD*

Friday, Feb. 17 – COLUMBIA*

Saturday, Feb. 18 – CORNELL*

Friday, Feb. 24 – at Harvard*

Saturday, Feb. 25 – at Dartmouth*

Friday, March 3 – YALE*

Saturday, March 4 – BROWN*

Tuesday, March 7 – at Princeton*

*Ivy League game

-Written by Mike Mahoney, director of athletic communications