Penn Announces 2006 Field Hockey Schedule

PHILADELPHIA - The University of Pennsylvania has announced its 2006 field hockey schedule.

The Quakers will get right after it this season, beginning the campaign with a tournament at the University of Delaware. Penn will meet Syracuse out of the Big East in the season-opening, and one day later the Quakers will take on 2005 NCAA Championship participant Ohio State. Another NCAA team from a year ago, Penn State, is on the docket -- the Quakers and Nittany Lions will match up under the lights in University Park on Wednesday, Sept. 20.

One particular daunting portion of the schedule comes in the second half of September, when Penn hits the road for six-straight games. The run begins Sept. 13 at Lafayette, ends Sept. 30 at Ivy League foe Dartmouth, and includes another league game with Cornell (Saturday, Sept. 16), a City 6 matchup with Villanova (Wednesday, Sept. 27), as well as Penn State and another Big East opponent in Rutgers (Sunday, Sept. 24).

In Ivy League play, Penn gets its feet wet in the conference with Harvard on Saturday, Sept. 9 at Franklin Field. The Quakers also are home with Columbia (Friday, Oct. 13) and Brown (Sunday, Oct. 29); in addition to the trips to Ithaca and Hanover, they hit the road to play Yale (Saturday, Oct. 21) and end the regular season with defending Ivy champion Princeton (Friday, Nov. 3).

Penn will play under the lights five times this season-at home against Saint Joseph's (Wednesday, Sept. 6); at Lafayette; at Villanova; home against Columbia; and at Princeton.

"We are looking forward to our tough opening weekend against Syracuse and Ohio State in the Delaware tournament," said Penn Field Hockey Coach Val Cloud, who enters her 12th season. "It will definitely help us to prepare for our first Ivy game against Harvard the next weekend."

Penn went 9-8 in 2005, including a 3-4 Ivy League mark.

2006 PENN FIELD HOCKEY SCHEDULE
Saturday, Sept. 2 -- vs. Syracuse #, 2 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 3 -- vs. Ohio State #, 11:30 a.m.
Wednesday, Sept. 6 -- SAINT JOSEPH'S, 7:15 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 9 -- HARVARD*, Noon
Wednesday, Sept. 13 -- at Lafayette, 7 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 16 -- at Cornell*, Noon
Wednesday, Sept. 20 -- at Penn State, 6 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 24 -- at Rutgers, 1 p.m.
Wednesday, Sept. 27 -- at Villanova, 7 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 30 -- at Dartmouth*, Noon
Sunday, Oct. 8 -- LOCK HAVEN, 1 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 13 -- COLUMBIA*, 7:15 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 15 -- at Drexel, 1 p.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 18 -- at UMBC, 3 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 21 -- at Yale*, Noon
Sunday, Oct. 29 -- BROWN*, Noon
Friday, Nov. 3 -- at Princeton*, 7 p.m.

*Ivy League game
# University of Delaware Tournament
Home games in ALL CAPS played at Franklin Field
Dates and times are subject to change