Penn Announces 2006 Women's Soccer Schedule

PHILADELPHIA - The University of Pennsylvania has announced its 2006 women's soccer schedule.

The Quakers will kick off the 2006 campaign Saturday, Sept. 2 with Rider University, followed two days later by 2005 NCAA Women's College Cup participant Rice at Rhodes Field. One week later, Penn hosts an invitational tournament with Princeton, 2005 NCAA College Cup participant Hofstra and Richmond. The Quakers will play Hofstra Friday night at 7:30, following the Princeton-Richmond game; on Sunday, Penn meets Richmond at 2:30 p.m., following the Princeton-Hofstra match at noon.

Tuesday, Oct. 3 will represent a homecoming of sorts, as former Penn assistant coach Mick Statham brings his Lafayette squad to Rhodes Field. The Quakers also will face off with city foes Temple

In Ivy League play, Penn gets its feet wet in the conference with Harvard on Sunday, Sept. 24 at Rhodes Field. The Quakers also are home with Columbia (Saturday, Oct. 7) and Brown (Sunday, Oct. 29); they hit the road to play defending champion Yale and Dartmouth - both of whom played in the 2005 NCAA Women's College Cup - as well as Princeton and Cornell.

"The 2006 season will be a great test for our young team," said head coach Darren Ambrose, who enters his seventh season with the Quakers. "We will get to see early on what we are made of. Of course the Ivy League run is always a challenge; there is so much parity in the League that every match will demand we play our best."

Penn went 8-6-3 overall in 2005, including a 2-3-2 Ivy League mark.

2006 PENN WOMEN'S SOCCER SCHEDULE

Saturday, Sept. 2--RIDER, 7 p.m.
Monday, Sept. 4--RICE, 1 p.m.
2006 Penn Women's Soccer Invitational Tournament
Friday, Sept. 8--HOFSTRA, 7:30 p.m.
(Princeton vs. Richmond, 5 p.m.)
Sunday, Sept. 10-- RICHMOND, 2:30 p.m.
(Princeton vs. Hofstra, noon)
Friday,Sept. 15--at UNC-Greensboro,7 p.m.
Sunday,Sept. 17--at East Carolina, 1 p.m.
Wednesday,Sept. 20--at Temple,4 p.m.
Sunday,Sept. 24--HARVARD*,1 p.m.
Saturday,Sept. 30--at Cornell*,1 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 3--LAFAYETTE,7:30 p.m.
Saturday,Oct. 7--COLUMBIA*,7:30 p.m.
Wednesday,Oct. 11--ROBERT MORRIS,5 p.m.
Sunday,Oct. 15--at Dartmouth*, 2:30 p.m.
Saturday,Oct. 21--at Yale*, 4:30 p.m.
Wednesday,Oct. 25--at La Salle,7 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 29--BROWN*,1 p.m.
Saturday,Nov. 4--at Princeton*,4 p.m.

*Ivy League match
Home games inALL CAPS played at Rhodes Field; dates and times are subject to change.