Penn Men's Lacrosse Announces 2006 Schedule

2006 Penn Men's Lacrosse Schedule

PHILADELPHIA - The University of Pennsylvania men’s lacrosse program has announced its 2006 schedule.

The Quakers will be at home seven times in a 13-game slate, beginning Saturday, Feb. 25 when they host Siena at noon. One week later, Penn and Villanova renew their city rivalry at Franklin Field.

The home schedule also includes three Ivy League games—Harvard (Saturday, March 25), Cornell (Saturday, April 1) and Brown (Saturday, April 15). Cornell won the conference last year and advanced to the NCAA Championship.

A pair of Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) teams also dot the Quakers’ schedule—with both games coming on the road. Penn will make its spring break trip to North Carolina (Tuesday, March 7) for a meeting with the Tar Heels, and the Quakers end the season at Maryland (Saturday, May 6), which advanced to the semifinal round of last year’s NCAA Championship.

“I think we have put together another difficult schedule, but I believe we are up to the challenge,” said Penn head coach Brian Voelker, who is entering his fourth season. “The Ivies will be very tough again this year, with Cornell shaping up as the favorite. We have finished in the top 11 in terms of strength of schedule each of the last two years, and I think we should be there again this season.”

2006 PENN MEN'S LACROSSE SCHEDULE

Date -- Opponent, Time

Saturday, Feb. 11 -- TOWSON (scrimmage), 1 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 18 -- at Rutgers (scrimmage), 10 a.m.

Saturday, Feb. 25 -- SIENA, Noon

Saturday, March 4 -- VILLANOVA, 1 p.m.

Tuesday, March 7 -- at North Carolina, 7 p.m.

Saturday, March 11 -- UMBC, 1 p.m.

Saturday, March 18 -- at Yale*,3 p.m.

Tuesday, March 21 -- at Bucknell, 7 p.m.

Saturday, March 25 -- HARVARD*, 1 p.m.

Saturday, April 1 -- CORNELL*, Noon

Saturday, April 8 -- at Dartmouth*, 1 p.m.

Tuesday, April 11 -- at Princeton*,7 p.m.

Saturday, April 15 -- BROWN*, 1 p.m.

Sunday, April 23 -- ROBERT MORRIS, Noon

Saturday, May 6 -- at Maryland, 1 p.m.

All dates and times subject to change

home games in CAPS played at Franklin Field

*Ivy League game