Quakers Roll Past Siena, 19-3

Penn-Siena Box Score

PHILADELPHIA - The University of Pennsylvania men's lacrosse team got off to a quick start and never looked back Saturday afternoon at Franklin Field, rolling past Siena 19-3 in the season opener for both teams.

Penn had four goals in the first three minutes, led 6-0 before Siena had even gotten an offensive possession, and heldleadsof 9-0 after one quarter and15-0 at the half en route to the victory. Alan Eberstein keyed the opening run, winning face-off after face-off and setting up several fast-break opportunities that the Quakers converted.

Freshman J.J. Lian got the Quakers on the board just 1:23 into the game on an unassisted goal, followed quickly by David Cornbrooks. Then Alex Weber, D.J. Andrzejewski (off an Eberstein feed) and James Riordan (again from Eberstein) all scored within a span of 13 seconds to give Penn a 5-0 lead.

One minute later Lian notched his second of the game, and three minutes after that Andrzejewski tallied an unassisted goal. The senior then went back-to-back in a span of five seconds to push the Quaker lead to 9-0 before the first quarter ended.

The Quakers kept the pressure on in the second half, as Eberstein scored twice and Casey O'Rourke, Drew Collins, Glenn Goebels and Cornbrooks also scored.

The only suspense in the second half was waiting to see how long it would take Siena to score; the Saints finally got on the board with 5:22 left in the third quarter on an unassisted goal by Chris Zarins. For Penn, Gregory Klossner played the first three quarters and had five saves; he was relieved in the fourth by Greg Murray.

Eberstein finished the game with three goals and three assists, while Andrzejewski had four goals and one dish. Lian, Cornbrooks and Collins had two goals apiece.

Penn is back in action next Saturday, hosting Villanova at 1 p.m. on Franklin Field.


PENN: D.J. Andrzejewski 4, Eberstein 3, Cornbrooks 2, Collins 2, Lian 2, Riordan, Weber, O'Rourke, Goebels, C. Andrzejewski, Hlavin.

SIENA: Zarins, Donovan, Ferrara.


PENN: Eberstein 3, D.J. Andrzejewski, Lian, Collins, C. Andrzejewski.

SIENA: Girsh, Donovan.


Gregory Klossner 5 (45:00), Greg Murray 0 (15:00).

Download: Penn01 (Siena).pdf