Renna A Finalist For Tewaaraton Award

PHILADELPHIA - Sophomore defender Hilary Renna of the No. 3 Penn women's lacrosse team has been named one of 17 nominees for the Tewaaraton Award, the honor given to college lacrosse's best player.

Renna is the first Tewaaraton nominee in program history and one of three Ivy players on the shortlist. The list will be winnowed down to five finalists, and the winner will be announced on May 30.

"I feel honored," Renna said. "It's sowonderful to be part of such a great defense that allowsus to take risks as individuals. Our coaching staff has beenamazing and is the reason why the defense and the entireteamhas gottento where we are now."

Aspeedy defender, Renna has been charged with guarding some of the nation's most dangerous attackers. She held Yale's Lauren Taylor andJohns Hopkins' Mary Key, the two leading scorers in the nation, to just a goal each as Penn has romped to nine wins in a row and the Ivy League championship. She has twice been named the Ivy League Defensive Player of the Week.

Penn will look to wrap up an undefeated Ivy League season Saturday at Brown at 1 p.m.

2007 Tewaaraton Award Nominees

Berger, Kelly James Madison
Breslin, Kate Virginia
Cooke, Jen North Carolina
Cryer, Caroline Duke
Dobbie, Dana Maryland
Douthett, Whitney Dartmouth
Falcone, Amber North Carolina
Frank, Meredith Northwestern
Hordy, Kristen North Carolina
Kasper, Kelly Maryland
Key, Mary Johns Hopkins
Kjellman, Kristen Northwestern
Nielsen, Hannah Northwestern
Renna, Hilary University of Pennsylvania
Stanwick, Coco Georgetown
Taylor, Lauren Yale
Waagbo, Kristen Duke