Rosen Named Philadelphia Big 5 Player of the Year

PHILADELPHIA - The Philadelphia Big 5 has announced its awards for the 2011-12 men's basketball season, and Penn senior guard Zack Rosen received a number of honors including the Big 5's highest, the Robert V. Geasey Award as the Big 5 Player of the Year.

Rosen is the sixth Penn player to earn the Geasey Award, but just the second since Tony Price won it for the 1978-79 season. (The first was Ibrahim Jaaber, in 2006-07.) The others are Corky Calhoun (1971-72), Ron Haigler (1973-74 and 1974-75), and Keven McDonald (1976-77).

Rosen will be presented with his award at the annual Herb Good Banquet, which will take place on Monday, April 23 at 6:30 the Fox-Gittis Room at Temple's Liacouras Center. Tickets for the Banquet can be reserved by contacting Al Shrier at Temple ( or 215-204-1821).

The first three-time captain in program history, Rosen will graduate as the Penn men's basketball program's all-time leader in assists (588), games started (115) and minutes played (4,198), and his point total (1,723) is third behind only Ernie Beck and Ugonna Onyekwe. This season, Rosen set program single-season marks for assists (173), starts (33) and minutes played (1,259), while his point total (602) was the best since Tony Price scored 633 points in 1978-79. Rosen also hit 75 three-point field goals in 2011-12, the seventh-best single-season total in program history.

In addition to leading Penn in scoring, assists, three-pointers and free throws made (105), Rosen was second on the team with 46 steals. He scored in double figures a team-high 31 times in 33 games -- including 17 in a row to end the season -- and had 13 games with 20 or more points including six with 25 or more. Rosen had three double-doubles, all coming via a points-assists combination.

Among the other awards Rosen has received during this postseason, he was a unanimous selection as Ivy League Player of the Year and first-team All-Ivy. He was the only Ivy Leaguer named to the ECAC All-Star Teams, receiving second-team recognition, and was an All-District selection by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) and the U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA). Rosen was brought to New Orleans during the Final Four to celebrate his being one of 10 finalists for the prestigious Lowe's Senior CLASS Award, and he was also one of 20 semifinalists nationally for the Bob Cousy Award as the nation's top point guard.

Penn finished the season 20-13 overall, their best win total since 2006-07. The Quakers finished the regular season with an 11-3 Ivy League record, finishing in second place behind Harvard. In the postseason, Penn played in the College Basketball Invitational (CBI), defeating Quinnipiac in the opening round before falling to Butler in the quarterfinals.

Rosen was also named first-team All-Big 5 along with Temple's Ramone Moore and Khaliff Wyatt, Villanova's Maalik Wayns, and Langston Galloway from Saint Joseph's. The Big 5 second team consists of Tyreek Duren, Earl Pettis and Ramon Galloway from La Salle; Carl Jones and C.J. Aiken from Saint Joseph's; and Juan Fernandez from Temple.

Rosen also pulled down two other singular awards, the Scholar Athlete Award and the Palumbo Trophy as the city's scoring champion. Among the other singular awards, Pettis is recipient of the George Paull Award as the most improved player; Jerrell Wright (La Salle) is the Dave Zinkoff Award recipient as the Rookie of the Year; and Wayns will receive the Cy Kaselman Award for having the highest free-throw percentage.

Temple was named the Team of the Year, and Owl head coach Fran Dunphy will once again receive the Harry Litwack Award as the Big 5 Coach of the Year.