Samson and Wynn Named to TSN Preseason All-America Team

PHILADELPHIA – The Sports Network (TSN), one of the leading FCS media outlets, selected two Quakers to its Preseason FCS All-America teams as announced by TSN on Friday. Junior kicker Andrew Samson was named a first team specialist and senior defensive back Chris Wynn was among the second team defense.

Samson and Wynn have already received much preseason recognition after impressive performances in 2008 when both were selected as TSN Third Team All-Americans. The two were also honored by Consensus Draft Services (CDS) in May as Preseason All-Americans along with senior defensive lineman Joe Goniprow. Samson and Goniprow were first-teamers and Wynn was earned honorable mention recognition.

Both Samson and Wynn were first team All-Ivy last season. Samson - who was also named to Phil Steele's second team preseason All-America list - set the school record for field goals in a season when his third field goal against Cornell in the season finale gave him a total of 16 on the year. That total ranked him third in the nation. His 13 field goals in Ivy play in 2008 is an Ivy League record. Also at Cornell, Samson tied and then broke the school record for consecutive made extra points. His second successful point after attempt in that game marked his 49th in a row since putting on a Penn uniform. He was 20-for-20 on PAT's in 2008, following his 29-for-29 effort in 2007.

Wynn also set a new school standard in 2008 as he became the first Quaker since the inception of the Ivy League to record five interceptions or more in back-to-back seasons. He led the Ivy League in that category and in passes defended, also ranking in the top-10 in the nation in both those categories. Wynn, who was also the team's top kick returner last season, led the team with 32 solo tackles.

The Quakers begin their quest for the 2009 Ivy title when they begin preseason practices in mid-August.

2009 Sports Network Preseason FCS All-America Teams

First Team Offense
Player School Pos. Cl. Ht. Wt.
Armanti Edwards Appalachian State QB Sr 6-0 185
William Ford South Carolina State RB Sr 5-11 185
Trevyn Smith Weber State RB Sr 5-9 210
Jared Turcotte Maine FB So 6-2 232
Terrell Hudgins Elon WR Sr 6-2 234
Marc Mariani Montana WR Sr 6-0 185
Andre Roberts The Citadel WR Sr 5-11 175
Scott Sicko New Hampshire TE Sr 6-3 230
Ben Ijalana Villanova T Jr 6-4 325
James Williams Harvard T Sr 6-5 295
Jeff Hansen Montana State G Sr 6-4 290
Matthew McCracken Richmond G Sr 6-4 291
Austin Steichen Northern Iowa C Sr 6-3 305

Second Team Offense
Player School Pos. Cl. Ht. Wt.
Dominic Randolph Holy Cross QB Sr 6-3 223
Toddrick Pendland McNeese State RB Jr 5-10 175
Chase Reynolds Montana RB Jr 6-0 190
Joe Casey Rhode Island FB Sr 5-10 215
Pat Simonds Colgate WR Sr 6-6 223
Juamorris Stewart Southern WR Sr 6-3 195
Tim Toone Weber State WR Sr 5-10 165
Clay Harbor Missouri State TE Sr 6-4 243
Vladimir Ducasse Massachusetts T Sr 6-4 305
Derek Hardman Eastern Kentucky T Sr 6-6 282
Dorian Brooks James Madison G Sr 6-3 300
Chaz Millard Eastern Illinois G Sr 6-3 291
Kyle Mutcher Weber State C Sr 6-3 295

Third Team Offense
Player School Pos. Cl. Ht. Wt.
Cameron Higgins Weber State QB Jr 6-2 195
David McCarty Albany RB Sr 6-0 190
David Sinisi Monmouth RB Sr 5-10 200
Bobby McClintock Portland State FB Sr 5-10 240
Buddy Farnham Brown WR Sr 6-0 200
Shaun Pasternak Bucknell WR Jr 6-3 190
Tysson Poots Southern Utah WR Jr 6-3 205
Cody Nakamura Weber State TE Sr 6-1 215
Mario Acitelli Appalachian State T Sr 6-2 275
Will Rackley Lehigh T Jr 6-4 310
David Arkin Missouri State G Jr 6-5 298
Keith Buckman North Dakota State G Sr 6-5 312
Brian Branigan Villanova C Sr 6-3 285

First Team Defense
Player School Pos. Cl. Ht. Wt.
Larry Hart Central Arkansas DE Sr 6-1 242
Austen Lane Murray State DE Sr 6-7 270
Sam Daniels James Madison DT Sr 6-1 280
Mychal Savage Youngstown State DT Sr 6-2 305
Brandin Jordan Southern Illinois LB Sr 5-11 230
Osayi Osunde Villanova LB Sr 6-1 235
Jabara Williams Stephen F. Austin LB Jr 6-3 215
Jeffery Williams Gardner-Webb LB Jr 6-0 205
Josh Morris Weber State CB Sr 6-0 180
Justin Rogers Richmond CB Jr 5-10 170
Tommy Connors Southeastern Louisiana SS Sr 6-1 205
Mark LeGree Appalachian State FS Jr 6-0 200
Terrell Whitehead Norfolk State DB Sr 6-2 200

Second Team Defense
Player School Pos. Cl. Ht. Wt.
Danny Batten South Dakota State DE Sr 6-4 250
James Ruffin Northern Iowa DE Sr 6-4 265
Kendrick Ellis Hampton DT Jr 6-5 340
Taylor Scott Central Arkansas DT Sr 6-4 274
Mario Brown Gardner-Webb LB Sr 6-2 234
Eric McBride Richmond LB Jr 6-2 214
Scott Lewis St. Francis LB Jr 5-11 200
Jacque Roman Appalachian State LB Sr 6-1 240
Cortez Gilbert Appalachian State CB Sr 5-11 175
Chris Wynn Penn CB Sr 5-9 190
Jeromy Miles Massachusetts SS Sr 6-2 207
Charles Graves Delaware FS Sr 6-0 195
Nate Thellen Northeastern DB Jr 6-2 208

Third Team Defense
Player School Pos. Cl. Ht. Wt.
Tim Kukucka Villanova DE Sr 6-3 250
Adrian Tracy William & Mary DE Sr 6-4 243
David Howard Brown DT Sr 6-3 270
Ko Quaye South Dakota DT Sr 6-1 302
Luke Bonus Hofstra LB Sr 5-10 205
Josh Mahoney Northern Iowa LB Sr 6-1 228
Chauncey Mixon Southern Illinois LB Sr 6-1 215
D.J. Smith Appalachian State LB Jr 6-1 215
Anthony Beck Prairie View CB Sr 6-1 205
Korey Lindsey Southern Illinois CB Jr 6-0 190
David Fullerton Cal Poly SS Sr 6-0 195
Beau Hadley Weber State FS Sr 6-0 185
Carnell Clark Jacksonville State DB Sr 6-2 183

First Team Special Teams
Player School Pos. Cl. Ht. Wt.
Andrew Samson Penn K Jr 6-1 180
Doug Spada SE Missouri State P Sr 6-1 190
Scotty McGee James Madison KR Sr 5-9 180
Austin Knowlin Columbia PR Sr 5-10 190

Second Team Special Temms

Player School Pos. Cl. Ht. Wt.
Davis Rodriguez Lafayette K Jr 5-10 210
Trevor Ward Southern Utah P Sr 6-4 215
Leroy Vann Florida A&M KR Sr 5-9 182
William Osborne Texas Southern PR Sr 5-7 160

Third Team Special Teams
Player School Pos. Cl. Ht. Wt.
Brian Pate William & Mary K Sr 5-9 182
Henry Sailes Tennessee Tech KR Jr 5-7 175
Elliott Finkley Jacksonville PR Jr 5-6 155