Samson Selected as AP All-America

PHILADELPHIA – After a record-breaking season, sophomore kicker Andrew Samson was selected to the Associated Press' FCS All-America Third Team on Wednesday. Samson becomes the first Quaker to earn the All-America distinction since offensive lineman Chris Clark did so in 2004.

Samson may have had the best season for a Quaker kicker in the team’s 131-year history. The West Bloomfield, Mich., native tallied 16 field goals in 2008 -- a number not reached by any other Quaker. The previous mark was 15, set on three separate occasions.

One of just four sophomores to make the All-America list, Samson also eclipsed Peter Veldman’s team record of 48 consecutive made extra points as he remained perfect for his career when his 20th and final attempt of the season sailed through the uprights to give him 49 straight makes.

The Ivy League’s leader in field goals, field goal percentage and PAT percentage, Samson was selected first-team All-Ivy at the end of the regular season and was a three-time Ivy League Special Teams Player of the Weekwhich set another school record.

As Samson finished third in the NCAA in field goals per game, the Quakers had their best record in four seasons, finishing one game off the Ivy title at 5-2 in the Ivy League.

FCS AP All-America Team

&ampamp;amp;amp;amp;lt;SCRIPT LANGUAGE='JavaScript1.1'&ampamp;amp;amp;amp;gt;if (document.layers) {document.write('&ampamp;amp;amp;amp;lt;SCR' + 'IPT language=JavaScript1.1 xsrc=/Global/ad.asp?type=single&ampamp;amp;amp;amp;amp;cls1=Sport&ampamp;amp;amp;amp;amp;src1=loc&ampamp;amp;amp;amp;amp;spct1=100&ampamp;amp;amp;amp;amp;sz1=wnsz_20&ampamp;amp;amp;amp;amp;callType=script /&ampamp;amp;amp;amp;gt;'); document.close();}&ampamp;amp;amp;amp;lt;/SCRIPT&ampamp;amp;amp;amp;gt;



Quarterback - Armanti Edwards, junior, 6-feet, 185 pounds, Appalachian State.

Running backs - Herb Donaldson, senior, 5-11, 225, Western Illinois; Rashad Jennings, senior, 6-1, 230, Liberty.

Wide receivers - John Matthews, senior, 6-0, 203, San Diego; Ramses Barden, senior, 6-6, 225, Cal Poly.

Linemen - Colin Dow, senior, 6-5, 300, Montana; Joel Bell, senior, 6-8, 3-8, Furman; Cornelius Lewis, senior, 6-5, 310, Tennessee State; Scott Lemn, senior, 6-3, 285, James Madison; Stephen Field, senior, 6-1, 280, Cal Poly.

Tight end - Scott Sicko, junior, 6-3, 225, New Hampshire.

All-purpose player - Larry Warner, senior, 5-5, 169, Southern Illinois.

Kicker - Andrew Wilcox, senior, 6-2, 231, Elon.


Linemen - Greg Peach, senior, 6-2, 250, Eastern Washington; Larry Hart, junior, 6-1, 252, Central Arkansas; Jovan Belcher, senior, 6-2, 228, Maine; John Faletoese, senior, 6-3, 290, UC Davis.

Linebackers - Zach East, senior, 6-2, 230, Prairie View; Jason Williams, senior, 6-3, 235, Western Illinois; Nathan Williams, senior, 6-1, 225, Murray State.

Defensive backs - K.J. Gerard, senior, 6-1, 180, Northern Arizona; Ladarius Webb, senior, 5-11, 180, Nicholls State; Colt Anderson, senior, 5-11, 180, Montana ; Mark Legree, sophomore, 6-0, 200, Appalachian State.

Punter - Brett Arnold, senior, 6-0, 185, Massachusetts.



Quarterback - Rodney Landers, senior, James Madison.

Running backs - Toddrick Pendland, junior, McNeese State; Trevyn Smith, junior, Weber State.

Wide receivers - Andre Roberts, junior, The Citadel; Terrell Hudgins, junior, Elon.

Linemen - Raymond Harrison, senior, South Carolina State; Matthew McCracken, junior, Richmond; Tim Silver, senior, Richmond; Nick Hennessey, senior, Colgate; Jonathan Bieschke, senior, Appalachian State.

Tight end - Clay Harbor, junior, Missouri State.

All-purpose player - LeRoy Vann, junior, Florida A&M.

Kicker - Taylor Long, senior, Eastern Kentucky.


Linemen - James Ruffin, junior, Northern Iowa; Scott Vossler, senior, Dayton; Greg Miller, senior, Villanova; Pierre Walters, senior, Eastern Illinois.

Linebackers - Chris Covington, senior, Georgia Southern; Andy Roman, senior, Lafayette; Bobby Abare, senior, Yale.

Defensive backs - Marcus Haywood, senior, James Madison; Dominique Johnson, senior, Jackson State; Dontrell Miller, junior, Tennessee-Martin; Charles Graves, junior, Delaware.

Punter - Robbie Dehaze, senior, Northern Arizona.



Quarterback - Cameron Higgins, sophomore, Weber State.

Running backs - William Ford, junior, South Carolina State; David Sinisi, junior, Monmouth, N.J.

Wide receivers - Thomas Harris, junior, Alabama A Cameron Luke, senior, Texas State.

Linemen - Brad Samsa, senior, Youngstown State; Eman Naghavi, senior, McNeese State; Derek Wooten, senior, Wofford; Jon Compas, senior, UC Davis; James Williams, junior, Harvard.

Tight end - Abner Brown, senior, Mississippi Valley State.

All-purpose player - Williams Osborne, junior, Texas Southern.

Kicker - Andrew Samson, sophomore, Pennsylvania.


Linemen - Kevin Walsh, senior, Monmouth; Austen Lane, junior, Murray State; Everette Pedescleaux, senior, Northern Iowa; Tim Knicky, junior, Stephen F. Austin.

Linebackers - Jeffrey Williams, sophomore, Gardner-Webb; Jarrell Guyton, senior, Morgan State; Andy Schantz, senior, Portland State.

Defensive backs - Philip Ashley, junior, Charleston Southern; Tommy Connors, junior, SE Louisiana; Nick Schommer, senior, North Dakota State; Carnell Clark, junior, Jacksonville State.

Punter - Doug Spada, junior, SE Missouri State.