Sprint Football Celebrates 2010 Season at Banquet

PHILADLEPHIA - After a season which saw the Penn sprint football team compile a 6-1 record and take dead-aim at history throughout the fall, the Quakers took time to celebrate the 2010 campaign with teammates, coaches, parents and friends on Dec. 12 at the Hall of Flags in Houston Hall.

The highlight of the banquet - officially speaking, of course - was the team presenting the University with three championship trophies from the 2010 season - the Allegiance Bowl championship trophy, the CSFL championship trophy and the William R. Wagner Trophy as Ivy League champs.

If you ask the players, however, the highlight may very well have been the time spent at the podium by 2010 captains Mike Bagnoli, Sam Biddle, Todd Busler and Zak Klinvex. The quartet of leaders an down the many memories from countless practices, bus trips and meetings spent with players and coaches as the group remembered just how tight-knit the sprint football team is.

In addition, the team presented the 26 Quakers who were named All-CSFL with their plaques commemorating their achievements on the field as Penn won its fourth League crown. Included in the all-league honors was Bagnoli receiving the CSFL Most Valuable Player Award - the sixth time a Quakers has earned the award.

Coach Bill Wagner and his staff also presented team awards as voted on by the players. Recipients of the 12 team awards included:

Sean Madden Captain Awards (Players who Served as Team Captains in 2010):
Mike Bagnoli
Sam Biddle
Todd Busler
Zak Klinvex

Lt. Charles Schmuker Award as Ideal Sprint Football Player:
Mike Bagnoli
Sam Biddle

Outstanding Player Awards (By Position):
Dan Doheny Award as Outstanding Offensive Lineman: Matt Manin
Dr. Paul M. Mitchell Award as Outstanding Defensive Lineman: Gage O'Connell
Timothy Ortman Award as Outstanding Offensive Back/Receiver: Mike Bagnoli
Robert J. Mongeluzzi Award as Outstanding Defensive Lineman/Linebacker: Zak Klinvex and Mike Paci

Thomas Stilwell Award as Outstanding Freshman:
Andrew Donald

Most Improved Player Award
Offense: Matthew Wetherall
Defense: Alexander Starr

Special Teams Award:
Raiam Santos
Whit Shaw

Benjamin Wagner Spirit Award:
Dave Hubsher