Sprint Football Celebrates 2014 Season at Banquet

PHILADELPHIA – Gathering to commemorate the 2014 season, the University of Pennsylvania sprint football team held its annual banquet on Dec. 6., in Houston Hall.

On Saturday, the Quakers were joined by their families and numerous alumni supporters in Houston Hall to celebrate a third place finish in the CSFL, finishing 4-3, and honoring the 19 All-CSFL individual selections, along with the programs traditional awards voted on by the players and coaches.

Senior Mike Beamish picked up four awards in his final season. He was awarded the Lt. Charles Schmucker Award as the “Ideal Sprint Football Player” for the second season in a row, along with the Timothy Ortman Award – outstanding offensive back or receiver, Special Teams Award, and Sean Madden Captains Award.

Beamish finished the season rushing for 533 yards and six touchdowns, on 121 carries, earning his fourth consecutive All-CSFL first-team selection at running back. He finished his career with 2,494 rushing yards, placing him third all-time in Quakers sprint football history. In addition, Beamish earned second-team honors as a punter this fall, punting 30 times for Penn, placing 11 kicks inside the 20-yard line, and recording two punts of 50-plus yards.

Sophomore Robert Diorio earned two awards, the Robert J. Mongeluzzi Award – outstanding linebacker or defensive back – and the Captains Award. Diorio was a second-team All-CSFL linebacker selection, making 37 tackles in five games. He collected 4.5 tackles for a loss, while also intercepting one pass, and returning a fumble for a touchdown.

Also earning two awards was Keith Braccia. The senior earned the Benjamin F. Wagner Spirit Award, along with the Captains Award. He finished the season as a second-team All-CSFL defensive back, playing in six games, totaling 34 tackles.

Donnie Kneisel earned the Dan Doheny Award – outstanding offensive lineman – after the junior helped pave the way at center for a Penn offense that ran for 592 yards, and passed for 1,165 yards, while scoring 14 touchdowns. He also was a first-team All-CSFL selection.

Sophomore Patrick Boyle was selected for the Dr. Paul Mitchell Award – outstanding defensive lineman – for totaling 20 tackles, including a team-leading 3.0 sacks, on his way to earning second-team All-CSFL on the defensive line.

The Most Improved Offensive Player Award went to a pair of receivers, junior Henry Mason and sophomore Mario Del Cueto. The two were the most dynamic receivers for the Quakers, with Mason hauling in 27 receptions for 376 yards and two touchdowns, while Del Cueto caught 20 passes for 341 yards and three touchdowns. Mason earned second-team All-CSFL honors, while Del Cueto was selected honorable mention All-CSFL.

Earning the Dan Harrell Most Improved Defensive Player Award were sophomores Chris Colavita and Arthur D’Angelo. Colavita earned first-team All-CSFL honors at defensive back, leading the team with 46 tackles, including 31 solo stops He finished fifth in the CSFL in tackles, and third in the league in with 7.7 stops per game. D’Angelo anchored the Penn defensive line earning honorable mention All-CSFL, finishing with 17 tackles, and tying the team lead in sacks with 3.0.

Two players were awarded the Thomas Stillwell Award for outstanding freshman, linebacker Quinn Karam and tight end Jonathan Lilley. Karam played in all six games earning honorable mention All-CSFL, while totaling 34 tackles, including 4.5 tackles for a loss, and one interception. Lilley also played in all six games hauling in five receptions for 39 yards, while serving as a blocking end. He also collected three tackles.

In addition to Beamish, Braccia, and Diorio receiving the Captains Award, sophomore quarterback Mike McCurdy also earned the award for serving as a team captain in 2014.

Concluding the banquet, Head Coach Bill Wagner introduced the 2015 captains – Patrick Boyle, Brendan Dale, Robert Diorio, Stu Helgeson, and Mike McCurdy.